Workable and flexible work

7. Temporary employment agreement
for an unlimited duration

The statute "Workable and Flexible Work" is promoting
temporary work by providing the possibility for
temporary work agencies to enter into contracts with
the temporary workers for an unlimited duration.

Temporary employment still is a booming sector.

Initially, temporary workers could be called in for 1) the replacement of an employee, whose contract was suspended, 2) the replacement of an employee whose contract had come to an end, 3) in the case of a temporary increase of the workload, and 4) for the performance of exceptional work.

More recently, the use of temporary employment has been authorized as a vehicle to test candidates for permanent employment (the substitute for the probation period).

The statute "Workable and Flexible Work" is now promoting temporary work by providing the possibility for temporary work agencies to enter into contracts with the temporary workers for an unlimited duration.

Up to now, for each temporary work assignment, a separate agreement was, in principle, entered into between the temporary work agency and the temporary worker. So, each of these agreements is a “one shot” temporary employment agreement.

The statute "Workable and Flexible Work" has now provided for the possibility for the temporary work agency and the temporary worker to enter into a temporary employment agreement for an unlimited duration. So, this agreement will cover various consecutive assignments of the temporary worker.

Some items have to be worked out in further detail by collective labour agreements entered into within the framework of the joint labour-management committee for temporary work. Therefore, the new stipulations will become effective only when these collective labour agreements have been rendered compulsory by royal decree.

The industrial relations partners, and particularly the trade unions, are not very happy about the fact that the legislator took this initiative concerning temporary work, because they consider themselves to have been the driving forces in connection with regulations concerning temporary work and they are convinced that it should stay that way.

1. The temporary employment agreement

The temporary employment agreement for an unlimited duration must include the general terms relating to the performance of the temporary assignments, the work time, which shall apply to the temporary worker, and a description of the various jobs, which may be covered by the temporary assignments.

The description of these various jobs is rather important because the temporary worker is expected to accept each temporary assignment, which is compatible with the jobs listed and described in the agreement.

What the consequences are / can be for the temporary worker, who wrongly refused a temporary assignment, is not clear. Could such a refusal qualify as "just cause" (refusal to perform work)? An argument in favour could be made, in our opinion, particularly since, as explained below, the temporary worker is entitled to a compensation, payable by the temporary employment agency, for each workday of inactivity between two temporary assignments.

The temporary employment agreement for an unlimited duration must be established in writing at the latest at the starting date of the agreement. The model of the agreement is to be established by collective labour agreement, concluded within the joint labour-management committee for temporary work and rendered compulsory by royal decree.

The law of 3 July 1978 relating to the individual employment contracts apply to the agreement, it being understood that derogating stipulations concerning the termination of the agreement by the temporary worker may be provided for by collective labour agreement, concluded within the joint labour-management committee for temporary work and rendered compulsory by royal decree.

2. The rights of the temporary worker

The periods of inactivity between the temporary assignments are to be taken into consideration for determining the temporary worker’s rights with respect to annual vacation and they are included for the calculation of the time of service of the temporary worker.

During these periods of inactivity, the rules relating to suspension of the contract for economic reasons cannot be applied.

The temporary worker is entitled to a minimum hourly salary for each hour of a fulltime workday or workweek during the periods of inactivity. The amount of the hourly salary as well as the fulltime daily and weekly work time serving as the reference for the calculation of the guaranteed hourly salary is to be determined by collective labour agreement, concluded within the joint labour-management committee for temporary work and rendered compulsory by royal decree.

Obviously, this guaranteed hourly salary represents an additional cost for the temporary employment agency. It is to be expected that the temporary employment agencies will recuperate this extra-cost from the employer-user. Normally, this should lead to different rates depending on whether the temporary worker is employed by the agency on the basis of a "one shot" temporary employment agreement or a temporary employment agreement for a unlimited duration.

Will this have an effect on the success of the system? In any event, it is to be expected that, as a result thereof, the "permanent" temporary workers will be more expensive than the "real" temporary workers.

3. An "assignment letter" for each temorary assignment

For each temporary assignment, the temporary employment agency establishes an "assignment letter" (the substitute of the "one shot" temporary employment agreement), specifying the identity of the employer-user, the justification for calling in a temporary worker, the duration of the assignment, the professional qualification, the place of work, the work time schedule and the salary and other compensations, if any.

4. An agreement between the temporary employment agency and the employer-user

Finally, each temporary assignment is to be covered by an agreement between the temporary employment agency and the employer-user in accordance with the stipulations of the existing regulations concerning temporary work.

Leila Mstoianleila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houbenmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be

Travail faisable et maniable

7. Contrat de travail intérimaire
pour une durée indéterminée

La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable » encourage le travail intérimaire en offrant la possibilité pour des agences
d’intérim de conclure avec les travailleurs intérimaires
des contrats pour une durée illimitée.

Le travail intérimaire est toujours un secteur en expansion.

Au départ, les travailleurs intérimaires pouvaient être appelés pour 1) le remplacement d’un employé dont le contrat était suspendu, 2) le remplacement d’un employé dont le contrat a pris fin, 3) en cas d’augmentation temporaire de la charge de travail, et 4) pour l’exécution d’un travail exceptionnel.

Plus récemment, l’utilisation du travail intérimaire a été autorisée comme un moyen de tester les candidats pour un travail permanent (le substitut de la période d’essai).

La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable » encourage désormais le travail intérimaire en offrant la possibilité pour des agences d’intérim de conclure avec les travailleurs intérimaires des contrats pour une durée illimitée.

Jusqu’à présent, pour chaque affectation de travail intérimaire, un contrat séparé était en principe conclu entre l’agence d’intérim et le travailleur intérimaire. Ainsi, chacun de ces contrats est un contrat de travail intérimaire « one shot ».

La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable » a maintenant prévu la possibilité pour l’agence d’intérim et le travailleur intérimaire de conclure un contrat de travail intérimaire pour une durée indéterminée. Ainsi, ce contrat couvrira plusieurs affectations consécutives du travailleur intérimaire.

Certains points doivent être élaborés plus en détail par des conventions collectives de travail conclues au sein de la commission paritaire pour le travail intérimaire. Par conséquent, les nouvelles dispositions ne seront en vigueur que quand ces conventions collectives de travail auront été rendues obligatoires par arrêté royal.

Les partenaires sociaux, et particulièrement les syndicats, n’apprécient pas le fait que le législateur ait pris cette initiative concernant le travail intérimaire, parce qu’ils considèrent avoir eux-mêmes joué un rôle moteur au sujet des règles concernant le travail intérimaire et ils sont convaincus que cela devrait rester ainsi.

1. Le contrat de travail intérimaire

Le contrat de travail intérimaire pour une durée indéterminée doit inclure les conditions générales en rapport avec l’exécution des missions temporaires, la durée du travail qui s’applique au travailleur intérimaire et une description des différentes fonctions qui peuvent être couvertes par les missions intérimaires.

La description de ces différentes fonctions est plutôt importante parce que le travailleur intérimaire est supposé accepter chaque mission intérimaire qui est compatible avec les fonctions listées et décrites dans le contrat.

Les conséquences pour le travailleur intérimaire qui a refusé à tort une mission intérimaire ne sont pas claires. Un tel refus pourrait-il être qualifié de « motif grave » (refus d’exécuter le travail) ? Un argument en ce sens pourrait être fait, selon nous, particulièrement puisque, comme expliqué ci-dessous, le travailleur intérimaire a droit à une indemnisation, payable par l’agence d’intérim, pour chaque jour ouvré d’inactivité entre deux missions intérimaires.

Le contrat de travail intérimaire pour une durée indéterminée doit être établi par écrit au plus tard à la date de début du contrat. Le modèle du contrat doit être établi par convention collective de travail, conclue au sein de la commission paritaire pour le travail intérimaire et rendue obligatoire par arrêté royal.

La loi du 3 juillet 1978 relative aux contrats de travail s’applique au contrat de travail intérimaire pour une durée indéterminée, étant entendu que des dispositions dérogatoires concernant la résiliation du contrat par le travailleur intérimaire peuvent être prévues par convention collective de travail, conclue au sein de la commission paritaire pour le travail intérimaire et rendue obligatoire par arrêté royal.

2. Les droits du travailleur

Les périodes d’inactivité entre les missions temporaires sont à prendre en considération pour déterminer les droits du travailleur intérimaire en matière des vacances annuelles et sont incluses pour le calcul de l’ancienneté du travailleur intérimaire.

Pendant ces périodes d’inactivité, les règles relatives à la suspension du contrat pour raisons économiques ne peuvent pas être appliquées.

Le travailleur intérimaire a droit à un salaire horaire minimum pour chaque heure d’une journée ou semaine complète de travail pendant les périodes d’inactivité. Le montant de ce salaire horaire ainsi que le temps de travail complet quotidien et hebdomadaire servant de référence pour le calcul du salaire horaire garanti sont à déterminer par convention collective de travail, conclue au sein de la commission paritaire pour le travail intérimaire et rendue obligatoire par arrêté royal.

Evidemment, ce salaire horaire garanti représente un coût additionnel pour les agences d’intérim. Il faut s’attendre à ce que les agences d’intérim récupèrent ce coût supplémentaire sur l’employeur-utilisateur. Normalement, cela devrait mener à différents taux selon que le travailleur intérimaire est employé par l’agence sur base d’un contrat de travail intérimaire « one shot » ou d’un contrat de travail intérimaire à durée indéterminée.

Cela aura-t-il un impact sur le succès du système ? Dans tous les cas, il faut s’attendre à ce qu’en conséquence, les travailleurs intérimaires « permanents » soient plus chers que les travailleurs temporaires « classiques ».

3. Une « lettre de mission » pour chaque mission intérimaire

Pour chaque mission intérimaire, l’agence d’intérim établi une « lettre de mission » (le substitut du contrat de travail intérimaire « one shot »), spécifiant l’identité de l’employeur-utilisateur, la justification pour faire appel à un travailleur intérimaire, la durée de la mission, la qualification professionnelle, le lieu de travail, l’horaire de travail et le salaire et, le cas échéant, autres compensations.

4. Un contrat entre l’agence d’intérim et l’employeur-utilisateur

Enfin, chaque mission intérimaire doit être couverte par un contrat entre l’agence d’intérim et l’employeur-utilisateur conformément aux dispositions des règles existantes en matière de travail intérimaire.

Leila Mstoianleila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houbenmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be