Workable and flexible work

14. E-commerce

The statute "Workable and Flexible Work" broadens the authorization to perform night work to all logistic and
supporting services, linked to electronic trade.

The performance of night work, that is work performed between 8h00 PM and 6h00 AM, is in principle forbidden in Belgium.

A number of exceptions to this general principle of prohibition have been laid down in statutes and royal decrees.

To put it otherwise, performance of night work must be explicitly authorized.

Because of the explosive evolution of electronic trade (e-commerce) in the course of the last years and, even more so, because of the pressing competition from the surrounding countries, setting up a legal framework for e-commerce became a matter of urgency in order to meet and to promote the growth in the sector.

A first step has already been made by the Royal Decree of 13 March 2016. This Royal Decree authorizes the performance of night work by the workers employed by the companies falling within the scope of the joint labour-management committee for the independent retail trade (JM-LC 201), the joint labour-management committee for the white-collar workers in the retail trade of food products (JL-MC 202), the joint labour-management committee for the large retail businesses (JL-MC 311) and the joint labour-management committee for department stores (JL-MC 312), and this particularly for the performance of activities linked to electronic trade.

In each of these joint labour-management committees a collective labour agreement has been entered into, which further details the procedure to be complied with in order to introduce work time schedules, including performance of night work, as referred to in article 38 of the Labour Act.

The statute "Workable and Flexible Work" broadens the authorization to perform night work to all logistic and supporting services, linked to electronic trade. So, this includes also activities, which are performed by companies not falling within the scope of the joint labour-management committees listed above.

Needless to say, the procedures, as already existing, for the purposes of introducing work time schedules including performance of night work (as the case may be, combined with shift work) must strictly by complied with.

Leila Mstoianleila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houbenmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be

Travail faisable et maniable

14. E-commerce

L’autorisation des prestations de nuit est élargie à tous les services logistiques et de soutien liés à e-commerce.

Le travail de nuit, c’est-à-dire le travail accompli entre 20h00 et 6h00, est en principe interdit en Belgique.

Un nombre d’exceptions à ce principe général d’interdiction ont été établies par des lois et arrêtés royaux.

En d’autres termes, l’exécution d’un travail de nuit doit être expressément autorisée.

En raison de l’évolution explosive du commerce électronique (e-commerce) au cours des dernières années et plus encore en raison de la concurrence persistante des pays voisins, la mise en place d’un cadre légal pour l’e-commerce est devenue urgente pour rencontrer et promouvoir la croissance dans ce secteur.

Une première étape a déjà été franchie par l’arrêté royal du 13 mars 2016. Cet Arrêté Royal autorise l’exécution du travail de nuit par les travailleurs employés par les entreprises  ressortissant de la commission paritaire du commerce de détail indépendant (CP 201), la commission paritaire pour les employés du commerce de détail alimentaire (CP 202), la commission paritaire des grandes entreprises de vente au détail (CP 311) et la commission paritaire des grands magasins (CP 312), et ce particulièrement pour la prestation d’activités liées au commerce électronique.

Dans chacune de ces commissions paritaires, une convention collective de travail a été conclue, laquelle détaille la procédure à respecter pour introduire des régimes de travail comportant des prestations de nuit, visée à l’article 38 de la loi sur le travail.

La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable » élargit l’autorisation des prestations de nuit à tous les services logistiques et de soutien liés au commerce électronique. Cela inclut donc également des activités qui sont accomplies par des entreprises ne ressortissant pas dans des commissions paritaires listées ci-dessus.

Inutile de dire que la procédure, telle qu’elle existe déjà, aux fins d’introduire des régimes de travail comportant des prestations de nuit (le cas échant combinée avec le travail en équipes successifs) doit être strictement respectée.

Leila Mstoianleila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houbenmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be