Workable and flexible work

10. Employers’ groupings

The statute "Workable and Flexible Work" is turning the
Employers' groupings into a definite system,
simplified but extended.

The employers’ grouping has been introduced in Belgian employment law in 2014 along the lines of the French example. So far, it was restricted to an experiment, renewed each time on an annual basis.

The statute "Workable and Flexible Work" is now turning it into a definite system, simplifies it and extends it.


The employers’ grouping is established by two or more enterprises as a non-profit association (hereafter "N-PA") or an economic interest grouping (hereafter "EIG"). The N-PA or the EIG hires employees in order to put these at the disposal of the member-enterprises along their needs.

So, essentially, this is a system allowing the member-enterprises to call temporarily or part-time on workers, for whom they do not have permanent or full-time employment, without having to assume expenses, which exceed the cost of the effective part-time or temporary employment.

The N-PA or the EIG is formally the employer, who puts the employees at the disposal of the member-enterprises. Consequently, this is a violation of the prohibition in principle to put workers at the disposal of a third party. Therefore, measures to make an exception to this prohibition are required.

Notwithstanding the fact that the system has been applicable for almost three years, it has not been successful (unlike France, where, according to estimations, 40,000 jobs have been created that way).

So, the purpose of minister Peeters is to make the system more attractive by simplifying the procedure to establish employers’ groupings and by extending the possibilities to use the system.

Below follows an overview of the modifications.

1. Establishing an employers’ grouping is made easier

The employers’ grouping must obtain beforehand the authorization of the Minister of Labour, who decides within 40 days. He may – but he is no longer obliged to do so – ask the National Labour Council for its advice.

The authorization is valid for an indefinite duration, but the Minister of Work may withdraw the authorization at any time, if the employers’ grouping does not comply (any more) with the requirements.

The employers’ grouping must have the corporate form of a N-PA or an EIG. Its purpose must be limited to putting its workers at the disposal of the member-enterprises.

Additional purposes require a royal decree, adopted after consultation within the Council of Ministers and after advice of the National Labour Council.

2. Employment of a maximum 50 employees

The maximum number of employees that may be employed by an employers’ grouping is fixed at 50.

When an employers’ grouping exceeds that number, the authorization of the Minister of Labour takes an end three months following the date of exceeding.

3. Which joint labour-management committee is competent?

The Minister of Labour determines the joint labour-management committee, which has competence over the employees of the employers’ grouping, and he does so in the authorization. If all members fall within the scope of the same joint labour-management committee, this committee is also competent for the employers’ grouping. If that is not the case, the Minister of Labour determines the competent one by choosing between either the joint labour-management committee of the member(s) who will call most on the services of the employees of the employers’ grouping, or the joint labour-management committee of the member(s), employing the most permanent workers. The Minister of Labour may ask the advice of the National Labour Council.

If a new member adheres to the employers’ grouping, which falls within the scope of a joint labour-management committee, other than the committee(s) of the existing members, a new application has to be filed with the Minister of Labour to determine the competent joint labour-management committee.

The employers’ groupings must file each year a report on their activities with the FPS Employment, Labour and Social Consultation. The Minister of Labour may change his decision on the competent labour-management committee on the basis of that report.

4. Liability for the employers’ grouping

The member-enterprises are jointly and severally liable for the fiscal and social debts of the employers’ grouping towards the employees as well as towards third parties.

After 4 years the National Labour Council will evaluate these legal stipulations.

Leila Mstoianleila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houbenmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be

Travail faisable et maniable

10. Groupements d’employeurs

La « Loi Travail Faisable et Maniable » fait des
groupements d'employeurs
, qui ont été introduit en 2014,
un système définitif, plus simple mais élargi. 

Le groupement d’employeurs a été introduit, suite à l’exemple français, dans le droit du travail belge en 2014. Jusqu’à présent, cela restait limité à des expériences qui étaient prolongées annuellement.

La « Loi Travail Faisable et Maniable » en fait un système définitif, simplifié et élargi.

Le groupement d’employeurs est constitué par deux ou plusieurs entreprises sous la forme d’une association sans but lucratif (ci-après 'ASBL') ou d’un groupement d’intérêt économique (ci-après 'GIE'). L’ASBL ou le GIE engage les travailleurs pour les mettre à disposition des entreprises-membres en fonction de leurs besoins.

Il s’agit donc en fait d’un système qui offre aux entreprises-membres la possibilité de faire appel temporairement ou partiellement à des travailleurs, pour qui ils n’ont pas un emploi permanent ou à temps plein, sans devoir prendre en charge des coûts qui dépassent l’occupation effective temporaire ou partielle.

L’ASBL ou le GIE est officiellement l’employeur qui met les travailleurs à disposition de ses entreprises-membres. C’est donc une atteinte à l’interdiction de principe de la mise à disposition de travailleurs à un tiers. Pour y remédier, une dérogation était nécessaire.

Malgré le fait que le système soit en vigueur depuis déjà presque trois ans, il n’était jusqu’ici pas un succès (contrairement à la France où l’on estime que 40.000 emplois ont été créés de cette manière).

L’intention du Ministre Peeters était donc de rendre le système plus attrayant en simplifiant la procédure de constitution et en élargissant les possibilités d’utiliser le système.

Ci-après, un aperçu des modifications est donné.

1. Organiser un groupement d'employeurs devient plus simple

Le groupement d’employeurs doit préalablement recevoir l’autorisation du Ministre de l’Emploi. Celui-ci prend sa décision dans les 40 jours. Il peut – mais ce n’est plus obligatoire – demander l’avis du Conseil National du Travail.

L’autorisation vaut pour une durée indéterminée, mais le Ministre de l’Emploi peut toujours retirer son autorisation si le groupement d’employeurs ne satisfait plus aux conditions.

Le groupement d’employeurs doit prendre la forme d’une ASBL ou d’un GIE. Le but doit être limité à la mise à disposition de ses travailleurs aux entreprises-membres.

Pour des buts complémentaires, un  arrêté royal, pris après délibération en Conseil des Ministres et après avis du Conseil National du Travail, est nécessaire.

2. Nombre maximum de travailleurs employés par un groupement d'employeurs

Le nombre maximum de travailleurs qui peut être employé par le groupement d’employeurs est fixé à 50.

Quand un groupement d’employeurs dépasse ce nombre, l’autorisation du Ministre de l’Emploi prend fin trois mois après la date du dépassement.

3. Quelle commission paritaire est compétente ?

La commission paritaire qui est compétente pour les travailleurs du groupement d’employeurs est déterminée par le Ministre de l’Emploi dans l’autorisation. Si tous les membres relèvent de la même commission paritaire, alors cette commission paritaire est aussi compétente pour le groupement d’employeurs. Si cela n’est pas le cas, la commission paritaire compétente est déterminée par le Ministre de l’Emploi qui fait un choix entre la commission paritaire du membre ou des membres qui feront le plus appel aux travailleurs du groupement d’employeurs et la commission paritaire du membre ou des membre qui emploient le plus grand nombre de travailleurs permanents. Le Ministre de l’Emploi peut en outre demander l’avis du Conseil National du Travail.

Si un nouveau membre, qui relève d’une autre commission paritaire que les membres existants, rejoint le groupement d’employeurs, alors le groupement d’employeurs doit introduire une nouvelle demande auprès du Ministre de l’Emploi concernant la commission paritaire compétente.

Les groupements d’employeurs doivent introduire annuellement un rapport concernant leurs activités auprès du SPF Emploi, Travail et Concertation Sociale. Le Ministre de l’Emploi peut modifier sa décision concernant la commission paritaire compétente sur base de ce rapport.

4. Responsabilité pour le groupement d'employeurs

Les entreprises-membres du groupement d’employeurs sont solidairement responsables des dettes sociales et fiscales du groupement d’entreprise et ce, aussi bien à l’égard des travailleurs que des tiers.

Après 4 ans, le Conseil National du Travail évaluera ces dispositions légales.

Leila Mstoianleila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houbenmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be