Day X – 60

11 December 2015 if the elections
take place on 9 May 2016


Which employers are obliged to organise social elections?

Social elections are, in principle, organised at the level of the “technical exploitation unit” (herein after “TEU”).

A works’ council is to be installed in the TEU’s, employing usually on average at least 100 workers.

In the TEU’s employing usually on average at least 50 workers and where at the occasion of the social elections of 2012 a work’s council has been installed or should have been installed, a works’ council has to be maintained. However, no separate elections have to be organised for the work’s council in that case, because the tasks of the works’ council are assumed by the committee for prevention and protection at work in these TEU’s.

In the TEU’s, employing usually on average at least 50 workers, a committee for prevention and protection at work has to be established.

So, the first question, which will arise with respect to the organisation of the social elections, is the determination of the TEU, at the level of which the social elections have to be organised (see below).

For the calculation of the number of workers (usually on average at least 50 or 100) reference is made to the 4 quarters of 2015. The number does not refer to the number of persons but to fulltime equivalents.

Therefore, the number of part-time workers, performing less than three fourth hours of work of the fulltime working schedule applicable in the company, is divided by two. Part-time workers performing three fourth or more hours of work of a fulltime working schedule are assimilated to fulltime workers.

The workers, engaged by a replacement-agreement in order to replace a permanent worker, are not included.

A special arrangement applies for the temporary workers. During the fourth quarter of 2015, the employers had to keep a register, including all data concerning the temporary workers, employed during the 4th quarter. These temporary workers have to be included in the calculation of the number of workers, except if they replace a permanent worker, whose performance of the employment contract has been suspended (see on this subject also an earlier contribution on our website (homepage > social elections 2016).

Start-up of the election procedure on day X – 60

At the latest on this day X – 60 the employer must submit the following information to the works’ council or the prevention committee or, in the absence thereof, to the union delegation:

1.    composition of the TEU, the level at which, in principle, the social elections are to be organised:

In principle, the TEU coincides with the legal entity of the employer (SA, SPRL, …). However, that is not necessarily the case:
-    depending on the circumstances, several separate legal entities may have to be joined into one single TEU: it occurs that one business activity is split into several legal entities (as an example: the production in one legal entity and the commercialisation of the products in another legal entity) in order to avoid social elections;
-    also, it is not excluded that one legal entity is composed of several TEU’s: in such case, a TEU with less than 100 or 50 workers (work’s council or prevention committee) must be joined with a TEU, satisfying the number of personnel requirement.

If the TEU does not coincide with the legal entity, the employer must submit the appropriate information concerning the nature, the areas and the degree of autonomy and dependence either of the TEU or TEU’s towards the legal entity or the nature, the areas and the degree of autonomy and dependence of the legal entities towards the TEU. Economic as well as the social criteria are to be taken into consideration in this respect.

If a works’ council or a prevention committee exists, the information relates only to the changes, that took place in connection with the structure of the company, and to the new criteria of autonomy or dependence either of the TEU or TEU’s towards the legal entity or of the legal entities towards the TEU.

If no changes occurred with respect to the composition of the TEU as compared to the preceding social elections, no information has to be given concerning this item.

The composition of the TEU’s is a crucial item in several respects in connection with the entire social election procedure, and this not only because it has an influence on the potential number of protected workers.

Our team will be pleased to be at your disposal to discuss this item further with you.

2.    The number of personnel members per category:

The employer must communicate in writing the number of personnel members per category, at his employ at day X – 60.

The different categories are the blue-collar workers, the white-collar workers including the management personnel, and the executive personnel, and the young workers, that is the workers who will not have reached the age of 25 on election day; a member of the management personnel younger than 25 years must be included in the category of young workers.
(note: may it be repeated once more: “the unique status blue-collar workers/white-collar workers”  is and remains an euphoric notion, and it remains a “dead letter” with respect to the social elections).

3.    Executive personnel:

This written information concerns the functions of the executive personnel by clarifying the titles and the contents, and, as a reference, the list of the persons performing these functions.

The executive personnel is limited in principle to the two highest levels of the hierarchy.

4.    Management personnel:

This written information also relates to the functions of the management personnel, and, as a reference, the list of the persons performing these functions.

Can be considered as management personnel, only the white-collar workers who have been reported as such to the National Social Security Office.

This information must only be submitted to the works’ council or, in the absence thereof, to the union delegation, because this information is relevant only with respect to the elections for the works’ council.

In addition, the obligation to communicate this information does not apply to companies with less than 100 workers or less than 30 white-collar workers.

5.    Date of posting of the message announcing the date of the elections and the suggested date of the elections

So, the employer must communicate the date on which the date of the elections will be announced (day X) as well as the date of the elections itself (Day Y).

The information relating to the works’ council is communicated to the works’ council or, in the absence thereof, to the union delegation, while the information relating to the prevention committee is submitted to the prevention committee or, in the absence thereof, to the union delegation.

So, this really entails two separate information procedures.

Also in the absence of a works’ council, prevention committee or union delegation, the employer must communicate this information in a document.

A model of the document can be found on the website of the Belgian Federal Public Service Employment, Labour and Social Dialogue (FOD WASO (D) / SPF ETCS (F)).

A copy of the document must be posted in each department of the company.

The posting may be substituted by making the document available electronically, provided all workers have access thereto during normal working hours.

A copy of the document is also uploaded on the web application, particularly installed for that purpose on the website of the Belgian Federal Public Service Employment, Labour and Social Dialogue (FOD WASO (D) / SPF ETCS (F)).

As an alternative, the copy may be sent directly to the representative trade unions.

                                     *   *   *   *   *

The period as from the date of this information (X – 60) up to day X – 35 is intended to allow the parties (the employer, on the one hand, and the works’ council, prevention committee and, as the case may be, the union delegation, on the other hand) to consult each other about this information/ suggestions of the employer and to resolve differences of opinion, if any. The employer will have to post his decision, with or without taking into consideration the position of the other parties, on day X – 35 (see on this item the comments concerning the next date).

Leila Mstoian - leila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houben - marcel.houben@peeters-law.be

   
  Day Y  
  Day Y + 2

Jour X – 60

11 décembre 2015 si les élections
seront tenues le 9 mai 2016


Quels employeurs doivent organiser les élections sociales ?

Les élections sociales sont en principe organisées au niveau de « l’unité technique d’exploitation » (ci-après « UTE »).

Un conseil d’entreprise est institué au sein des UTE’s, où en moyenne au moins 100 travailleurs sont habituellement occupés.

Dans les UTE’s occupant habituellement en moyenne au moins 50 travailleurs et où un conseil d’entreprise a été institué ou aurait dû être institué lors des élections sociales 2012, un conseil d’entreprise est maintenu. Néanmoins, dans ce cas, il ne faut pas organiser des élections séparées pour le conseil d’entreprise parce que dans ces UTE’s, les tâches du conseil d’entreprise sont remplies par le comité pour la prévention et la protection au travail.

Un comité pour la prévention et la protection au travail est institué dans les UTE’s occupant habituellement en moyenne au moins 50 travailleurs.

La première question qui va se poser avec l’organisation des élections sociales est donc la détermination de l’UTE, le niveau auquel les élections sociales sont organisées (voir ci-après).

Pour le calcul du nombre de travailleurs (habituellement en moyenne au moins 50 ou 100), référence est faite aux 4 trimestres de 2015. Ce nombre ne renvoie pas au nombre de personnes, mais bien aux équivalents temps plein.

Ainsi, le nombre de travailleurs à temps partiel, dont le nombre d’heures de travail est inférieur à trois quarts de l’horaire de plein temps, applicable dans l’entreprise, est divisé par deux. Les travailleurs à temps partiel, dont le nombre d’heures de travail est supérieur à trois quarts de l’horaire de temps plein, comptent comme équivalents plein temps.

Les travailleurs, qui remplacent un travailleur permanent en vertu d’un contrat de remplacement, ne rentrent pas en compte.

Pour les travailleurs intérimaires, un régime particulier est en vigueur : au cours du 4e trimestre de l’année 2015, l’employeur doit tenir un registre dans lequel il doit reprendre certaines données concernant les travailleurs intérimaires, travaillant chez lui pendant ce 4e trimestre. Ces travailleurs intérimaires doivent être pris en compte pour le calcul du nombre de travailleurs, à l’exception des travailleurs intérimaires qui remplacent un travailleur permanent de l’employeur, dont l’exécution du contrat de travail est suspendue (voir également à ce propos un article précédant sur notre site internet : homepage > élections sociales 2016).

Mise en route de la procédure d’élection au jour X – 60

Au plus tard à ce jour X – 60, l’employeur doit fournir les informations suivantes au conseil d’entreprise ou au comité pour la prévention ou, à défaut, à la délégation syndicale :

1.    La composition de l’UTE, le niveau auquel, en principe, les élections sociales sont organisées :

En principe, le TBE correspond à l’entité juridique de l’employeur (SA, SPRL,…) mais cela n’est pas nécessairement le cas :
-    selon les circonstances, il est possible que différentes entités juridiques distinctes doivent être réunies dans une seule UTE : une activité économique est parfois divisée en plusieurs entités juridiques (par exemple : production dans une entité juridique et commercialisation des produits dans une deuxième entité juridique pour tenter d’éviter les élections sociales) ;
-    de même, il n’est pas exclu qu’une entité juridique soit scindée en plusieurs UTE’s ; dans ce cas, une UTE, dans laquelle le nombre de membres du personnel est inférieur à 100 ou 50 (conseil d’entreprise ou comité pour la prévention), sera ajoutée à une UTE qui satisfait à la quantité de personnel exigée.

Là où l’UTE ne correspond pas à l’entité juridique, l’employeur doit fournir les informations nécessaires concernant la nature, les domaines et le degré d’autonomie et de dépendance du ou des unité(s) technique(s) d’exploitation vis-à-vis l’entité juridique ou à propos de la nature, des domaines et du degré d’autonomie et de dépendance des entités juridiques vis-à-vis l’unité technique d’exploitation. Aussi bien des critères économiques que sociaux doivent être pris en considération.

Quand un conseil d’entreprise ou un comité pour la prévention a déjà été établi, l’information a seulement trait aux modifications qui sont survenues dans la structure de l’entreprise et aux nouveaux critères d’autonomie ou de dépendance du ou des unité(s) technique(s) d’exploitation vis-à-vis l’entité juridique ou des entités juridiques vis-à-vis l’unité technique d’exploitation.

Dans le cas où aucune modification n’est survenue dans la composition de l’unité  technique d’exploitation par rapport aux élections sociales passées, il n’est pas nécessaire de donner des informations sur ce point.

La composition des UTE’s est, à plus d’un titre, une donnée cruciale dans l’ensemble de la procédure des élections, et ce pas seulement parce que le tout a une influence sur le nombre potentiel de travailleurs protégés.

Notre équipe reste volontiers à votre disposition pour évoquer avec vous cette question.

2.    Le nombre de membres du personnel par catégorie :

L’employeur doit communiquer par écrit le nombre de membres du personnel par catégorie, qui sont en service au jour X – 60.

Les catégories distinctes sont les ouvriers, les employés en ce compris les cadres, le personnel de direction et les jeunes travailleurs, c’est-à-dire les travailleurs qui n’auront pas atteint l’âge de 25 ans au jour des élections ; un jeune cadre est classé parmi les jeunes travailleurs.
(note : il doit être encore répété : « le statut unique ouvriers/travailleurs » est et reste une référence euphorique, car il demeure lettre morte pour les élections sociales).

3.    Le personnel de direction :

Ces informations écrites concernent les fonctions du personnel de direction en expliquant leur dénomination et leur contenu, ainsi que, à titre indicatif, la liste des personnes qui exercent ces fonctions.

Le personnel de direction est en principe limité aux deux niveaux les plus élevés de hiérarchie.

4.    Les cadres :

Ces informations écrites concernent également les fonctions des cadres ainsi que, à titre indicatif, la liste des personnes qui exercent ces fonctions.

Ne peuvent être considérés comme cadres que les employés qui sont qualifiés en tant que tel dans la déclaration transmise à l’Office National de Sécurité Sociale.

Ces informations doivent seulement être communiquées au conseil d’entreprise ou, à défaut, à la délégation syndicale, parce que ces informations sont seulement pertinentes en ce qui concerne les élections pour le conseil d’entreprise.

En outre, la communication de ces informations ne vaut pas pour les entreprises qui ont moins de 100 travailleurs ou moins de 30 employés.

5.    Date de l’affichage de l’avis qui annonce la date des élections et la date envisagée pour les élections

L’employeur doit donc communiquer la date de l’affichage de la date des élections (jour X) ainsi que la date à laquelle les élections même auront lieux (jour Y).

Les informations concernant le conseil d’entreprise sont communiquées au conseil d’entreprise ou, à défaut, à la délégation syndicale, et les informations concernant le comité pour la prévention sont communiquées au comité pour la prévention ou, à défaut, à la délégation syndicale.

Cela concerne donc en effet 2 sessions d’information distinctes.

Aussi, s’il n’y a aucun conseil d’entreprise, comité pour la prévention ou délégation syndicale, l’employeur doit communiquer ces informations dans un document.

Un modèle de ce document est disponible sur le site internet du SPF Emploi, Travail et Concertation sociale.

Une copie de ce document est affichée dans les différentes sections de l’entreprise.

Un tel affichage peut être remplacé par la mise à disposition d’un document électronique, pour autant que tous les travailleurs y aient accès pendant les heures normales de travail.

Une copie de ce document est également téléchargée sur l’application web, qui est prévue tout particulièrement pour cela sur le site internet du SPF Emploi, Travail et Concertation sociale. En tant qu’alternative, cette copie peut également être directement envoyée aux organisations syndicales représentatives concernées.

                                     *   *   *   *   *

La période à partir de la date de communication de ces informations (X – 60) jusqu’au jour X – 35 est destinée à offrir la possibilité aux parties (employeur d’une part, et conseil d’entreprise, comité pour la prévention et éventuellement délégation syndicale d’autre part) de se concerter concernant ces informations/propositions de l’employeur et, le cas échéant, de régler les désaccords. L’employeur devra alors communiquer au jour X - 35 sa décision, tenant compte – oui ou non des positions des autres parties (voir à ce propos les explications complémentaires concernant la date suivante).

Leila Mstoian - leila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houben - marcel.houben@peeters-law.be

   
  Jour Y  
  Jour Y + 2