Day Y
as per our assumption: 9 May 2016

For the trade unions and for the candidates,
this is of course D-DAY

Each polling committee is in charge of the polling proceedings. The employer must provide all facilities as required in order to enable the polling committee to guarantee a smooth development of the proceedings. The polling room must be organized in such a way that the secrecy of the vote is guaranteed.

The opening hours should be fixed in such a way that the workers have the possibility to cast their vote during working hours. The workers, who are not in the possibility to cast their vote during their working hours, are entitled to reimbursement of the travel cost by the employer.

The polling proceedings should be finalized during one single day. The proceedings may be spread over several days, if it is impossible to accomplish the proceedings in one day, subject to the consent of the works’ council or the prevention committee or, in the absence thereof, the union delegation.

An assessor, who is not present when the polling proceedings are started, is replaced by a voter, designated by the presiding officer of the polling committee among the voters, who show up first.

The presiding person of the polling committee hands the ballot(s), duly folded in four, to each voter. After having casted his vote, the voter drops the ballot(s) in the appropriate ballot box.

The presiding officer of the polling committee may destroy the ballot of a voter who does not comply with the instructions of the presiding officer, but the voter should be given another chance to cast his vote.

If voting by correspondence has been allowed, the voter must put his ballot in a blank envelope and send that blank envelope to the presiding officer of the polling committee in an envelope carrying his name and signature.

Before closing the polling proceedings the presiding officer of the polling committee hands these envelopes to the polling committee. The blank envelopes are then added to the ballot box by the polling committee.

As a final step in the polling proceedings, the polling committee draws up the minutes of the polling proceedings including data such as the number of voters who casted their vote, the number of withdrawn ballots and the number of the unused ballots.

These ballots, as well as the listings of the voters are kept in a sealed envelope.

The polling committee should then proceed immediately with the counting of the votes.

If there is only one single polling committee, it also proceeds with the allocation of the mandates and the designation of the elected effective and replacement members of the works’ council and of the prevention committee.

If there are two or more polling committees, the results of the counting of the votes of each polling committee are transferred to the polling committee which has been designated as the principal polling committee.

This principal polling committee must then allocate the mandates and designate the elected effective and replacement members of the works’ council and the prevention committee on the basis of the assembled voting results of all the polling committees.

If these counting proceedings cannot be finalised on the day of the polling proceedings, the proceedings may be continued the day after. In that case the presiding officer of the polling committee must take all precautions in order to secure the safety of all polling documents. In any event the counting proceedings must be finalised the day following the closure of the polling proceedings.

All documents relating to the elections are handed to the employer immediately upon closure of the counting proceedings.

All minutes relating to the election proceedings must be sent to the Director-General of the General Direction Individual Employment Relationships at the FOD WASO (D) / SPF ETCS (F). As an alternative, the minutes may be uploaded on the web application on the website of FOD WASO (D) / SPF ETCS (F).

A copy of the minutes is handed to the employer.

A copy of the minutes is also sent to the trade unions concerned unless the minutes have been uploaded on the web application on the website of FOD WASO (D) / SPF TECS (F).

Finally, the results of the elections are communicated electronically to the FOD WASO (D) / SPF TECS (F) for statistical purposes.

Leila Mstoianleila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houbenmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be

   
Day Y  
  Day Y + 2

Jour Y
selon notre hypothèse: 9 mai 2016

Pour les syndicats et les candidats,
il s’agit évidemment du D-DAY.

Chaque bureau électoral est en charge des opérations électorales. L’employeur doit fournir toutes les installations requises pour permettre au bureau électoral de garantir le développement sans problème des opérations électorales. Le local réservé aux bureaux électoraux doit être organisé d’une manière telle que le secret du vote est garanti.

Les heures d’ouverture doivent être fixées de manière à ce que les travailleurs aient la possibilité de voter pendant leurs heures de travail. Les travailleurs qui n’ont pas la possibilité de voter pendant leurs heures de travail ont droit au remboursement des frais de déplacement par l’employeur.

Les opérations électorales doivent être finalisées, en principe, en un seul jour. Les opérations peuvent être réparties sur plusieurs jours, s’il est impossible de les accomplir en un jour, moyennant le consentement du conseil d’entreprise ou du comité pour la prévention ou, à défaut, de la délégation syndicale.

Un assesseur qui n’est pas présent lorsque les opérations électorales commencent est remplacé par un électeur, désigné par le président du bureau électoral parmi les électeurs, qui se sont présentés en premier.

Le président du bureau électoral remet le(s) bulletin(s), dûment plié(s) en quatre, à chaque électeur. Après avoir voté, l’électeur dépose le(s) bulletin(s) dans l’urne appropriée.

Le président du bureau électoral peut détruire le bulletin d’un électeur qui ne respecte pas ses instructions, mais l’électeur doit recevoir une autre chance de voter.

Si le vote par correspondance a été autorisé, l’électeur doit mettre son bulletin dans une enveloppe blanche et l’envoyer au président du bureau électoral dans une enveloppe portant son nom et sa signature.

Avant de clôturer les opérations électorales, le président du bureau électoral remet ces enveloppes au bureau électoral. Les enveloppes blanches sont alors ajoutées à l’urne par le bureau électoral.

Pour terminer les opérations électorales, le bureau électoral rédige le procès-verbal des opérations électorales, incluant des données telles que le nombre d’électeurs qui ont voté, le nombre de bulletins retirés et le nombre de bulletins non utilisés.

Ces bulletins, ainsi que les listes d’électeurs, sont conservés dans une enveloppe scellée.

Le bureau électoral procédera alors immédiatement au dépouillement des votes.

S’il n’y a qu’un seul bureau électoral, il poursuit également la distribution des mandats et la désignation des membres effectifs et suppléants élus au conseil d’entreprise et au comité pour la prévention.

S’il y a deux bureaux électoraux ou plus, les résultats du dépouillement des votes de chaque bureau électoral sont transférés au bureau électoral qui a été désigné comme bureau électoral principal.

Le bureau électoral principal doit alors distribuer les mandats et désigner les membres effectifs et suppléants élus au conseil d’entreprise et au comité pour la prévention sur base des résultats de vote combinés de tous les bureaux électoraux.

Si les opérations de dépouillement ne peuvent pas être finalisées le jour des opérations électorales, les opérations peuvent être poursuivies le lendemain. Dans ce cas, le président du bureau électoral doit prendre toutes les précautions pour assurer la sécurité de tous les documents de vote. Dans tous les cas, le dépouillement doit être terminé le jour suivant la clôture des opérations électorales.

Tous les documents concernant les élections sont remis à l’employeur immédiatement dès la clôture du dépouillement.

Les procès-verbaux concernant la procédure d’élection doivent être envoyés au Directeur-General de la Direction Générale Relation Individuelle du Travail du SPF ETCS. Comme alternative,  les procès-verbaux peuvent être chargés sur l’application web du site web du SPF ETCS.

Une copie des procès-verbaux est remise à l’employeur.

Une copie des procès-verbaux est également envoyée aux syndicats concernés à moins que les procès-verbaux aient été chargés sur l’application web du site web du SPF ETCS.

Enfin, les résultats des élections sont communiqués de manière électronique au SPF ETCS  pour les statistiques.

Leila Mstoianleila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houbenmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be

   
Jour Y  
  Jour Y + 2