Social Elections 2016

Next year, in the course of the month of May, social elections
for the designation of the personnel representatives at the committee for prevention and protection at work and at
the works’ council will have to be organized again.

Social elections are organized at the level of the “technical exploitation unit” (hereafter “TEU”). This is a notion, which, originally, has been introduced by the legislator in particular for the social elections.

The works’ council has to be installed in the TEU’s, where normally on average at least 100 workers are employed.

In TEU’s, where normally on average at least 50 workers are employed and where, at the occasion of the social elections of 2012 a works’ council has been or should have been installed, the works’ council has to be maintained. In these TEU’s, the tasks of the works’ council are assumed by the committee for prevention and protection at work and therefore, no separate elections for the personnel representatives at the works’ council have to be organized.

In the TEU’s, employing usually on average at least 50 workers, the committee for prevention and protection at work is established.

The organization of the social elections is a complex matter and the preparation thereof has to be started several months in advance.

The first preparatory steps in this procedure have to be made in the course of the fourth quarter 2015. Also for the determination of the number of personnel (which is the essential issue for determining whether or not social elections have to be organized) the 2015 situation is decisive.

So, the social elections are not the the least of our worries anymore. Quite to the contrary, appropriate measures may have to be taken already now.

The employer is responsible for organizing the social elections. So, he has to take the initiative to start off the social elections procedure.

If he fails to comply with these obligations, penal or administrative fines may be imposed on him.

The penal fine may vary from 600.00 EUR to 6,000.00 EUR, possibly to be multiplied by a figure, equivalent to the number of workers employed, it being understood that the total penal fine shall not exceed 100 times the maximum fine. Consequently, the maximum penal fine amounts to 600,000.00 EUR.

The penal fine may vary from 600.00 EUR to 6,000.00 EUR, possibly to be multiplied by a figure, equivalent to the number of the workers employed, it being understood that the total penal fine shall not exceed 100 times the maximum fine. Consequently the maximum penal fine amounts to 600,000.00 EUR.

The same principles apply to the administrative fine, which may vary from 300.00 EUR to 3,000.00 EUR: possible multiplication by a figure equivalent to the number of workers employed, but in any event not exceeding 100 times the maximum amount; as a result, the maximum administrative fine amounts to 300,000.00 EUR.

The first issue, arising in connection with the organization of the social elections, is the determination of the TEU, the level at which the social elections are organized.

In principle, the TEU corresponds to the legal entity of the employer (limited liability company, …).

But, that does not always have to be the case:

- depending on the circumstances, several separate legal entities may have to be joined into one single TEU. It happens that one business activity is split into several legal entities (as an example: the production in one legal entity and the commercialisation of the products in another legal entity) in order to avoid social elections. It is not exceptional that such a manoeuvre is successfully challenged by the trade unions and that the employment tribunal decides that the split entities have to be joined anyway into one single TEU. So, such a splitting may not be the adequate solution to avoid social elections;

- likewise, it is not excluded that one legal entity may be split into several TEU’s; as a result, the possible number of protected workers may increase. The workers who are a candidate for the elections, have a special protection status with respect to termination of the employment contract, even if they have not been elected).

In any event, the composition of the TEU may offer some room for manoeuvring for the employer.

For the calculation of the number of employees (normally on average at least 50 or 100), reference is made to the four quarters of 2015. The number does not refer to the number of persons, but to fulltime equivalents. Therefore, the number of part-time workers, whose number of working hours is less than three fourths of a fulltime working schedule, as applicable in the company, is divided by two.

The employees, replacing a permanent worker pursuant to a replacement contract, are not taken into consideration.

For temporary workers a special arrangement applies: during the 4th quarter 2015, the employer must hold a register, in which he has to record a number of data concerning the temporary workers, who are working for him during the 4th quarter 2015. These temporary workers have to be taken into consideration, except if they are replacing a permanent worker of the employer, whose employment contract has been suspended.

When the limit of the number of workers (50 or 100) is nearly reached, it may be advisable to limit the call on temporary workers during the 4th quarter 2015 as much as possible.

As the procedure for the organization of the social elections progresses, the steps to be taken shall be explained in more detail on our website in a special heading “social elections”.

Needless to say, we will be pleased to remain at your disposal for any additional information or assistance you may wish.

Marcel Houben - marcel.houben@peeters-law.be
Leila Mstoian - leila.mstoian@peeters-law.be

   
  Social Elections 2016 - Step 1 - Register of temporary workers  
  Social elections 2016 - Hint 1 - Social elections in the construction industry  
  Social elections 2016 - Hint 2 - Be aware of the hidden protection period!  
  Social elections are not a game !

Les élections sociales 2016

L’année prochaine, dans le courant du mois de mai, les élections sociales devront à nouveau être organisées pour la désignation des représentants du personnel au comité pour la prévention
et la protection au travail et au conseil d’entreprise.

Les élections sociales sont organisées au niveau de « l’unité technique d’exploitation » (ci-après « UTE »). Cette dernière notion a été, à l’origine, introduite par le législateur en particulier pour les élections sociales.

Le conseil d’entreprise est institué au sein des UTE’s, où en moyenne au moins 100 travailleurs sont habituellement occupés.

Dans les UTE’s, occupant habituellement en moyenne au moins 50 travailleurs, où un conseil d’entreprise est institué ou aurait dû être institué lors des élections sociales 2012, le conseil d’entreprise est maintenu. Néanmoins, dans ce cas, les représentants du personnel dans le conseil d’entreprise ne sont pas élus séparément. En effet, dans ce genre d'UTE’s, les tâches du conseil d’entreprise sont remplies par le comité pour la prévention et la protection au travail et des élections séparées pour ces représentants du personnel ne sont pas organisées dans le conseil d’entreprise.

Le comité pour la prévention et la protection au travail est institué dans les UTE’s, occupant habituellement en moyenne au moins 50 travailleurs.

L’organisation des élections sociales est une affaire complexe, dont la préparation commence plusieurs mois à l’avance.

Les premières démarches préparatoires dans cette procédure doivent être effectuées au cours du quatrième trimestre de l’année 2015. Egalement pour la détermination de l’effectif de personnel (ce qui est essentiel pour la question si, oui ou non, des élections sociales doivent être organisées) la situation de l’année 2015 est déterminante.

Les élections sociales ne peuvent donc pas être le dernier de nos soucis. Au contraire, des mesures appropriées peuvent déjà s’imposer dès à présent.

L’employeur est responsable de l’organisation des élections sociales. C’est donc lui, qui doit prendre l’initiative de mettre la procédure des élections en route.

S’il ne respecte pas ses obligations dans la matière, des amendes pénales ou administratives peuvent lui être imposées.

Les amendes pénales peuvent varier entre 600,00 EUR et 6.000,00 EUR, éventuellement multipliées par un produit, équivalent au nombre de travailleurs employés, étant entendu que le montant total de l’amende pénale ne peut être plus élevé que 100 fois le montant maximal de l’amende. Par conséquent, l’amende pénale s’élève à 600.000,00 EUR au maximum.

Les mêmes principes s’appliquent à l’amende administrative, qui peuvent varier entre 300,00 EUR et 3.000,00 EUR : multiplication possible avec un produit, équivalent au nombre de travailleurs à l’emploi, mais pas supérieur à 100 fois le montant maximum, ce qui donne un montant maximum de 300.000,00 EUR.

La première question, qui se pose en matière de l’organisation des élections sociales, concerne la détermination de l’UTE, le niveau auquel les élections sociales sont organisées.

En principe, l’UTE correspond avec l’entité juridique de l’employeur (SA, SPRL,…).

Mais ce n’est pas nécessairement toujours le cas:

- selon les circonstances, il est possible que plusieurs entités juridiques doivent être jointes dans une seule UTE. Il y a des cas où une activité d’affaires est scindée en différentes entités juridiques (par exemple : la production dans une première entité juridique et la commercialisation des produits dans une deuxième entité juridique) afin d’éviter les élections sociales. Il n’est pas exceptionnel qu’un tel manœuvre est attaqué avec succès par les syndicats et que le tribunal de travail décide que les entités scindées doivent quand même être jointes dans une seule UTE. Une telle scission n’est donc pas toujours la bonne solution pour éviter des élections sociales ;

- de même, il n’est pas exclu qu’une entité juridique est scindée en plusieurs UTE’s ; la possibilité d’un nombre plus important de travailleurs protégés en résulte (les travailleurs qui se présentent comme candidat, ont un statut particulier de protection en matière de rupture du contrat de travail, également s’ils ne sont pas élus).

En tout cas, la composition de l’UTE laisse une certaine possibilité de manœuvre à l’employeur.

Pour le calcul du nombre de travailleurs (habituellement en moyenne au moins 50 ou 100), référence est faite au quatre trimestres de 2015. Ce nombre ne réfère pas au nombre de personnes, mais au full-time équivalents. Ainsi, le nombre de travailleurs à temps partiel, dont le nombre d’heures de travail est inférieur à trois quarts de l’horaire de plein temps, applicable dans l’entreprise, est divisé par deux.

Les travailleurs, qui remplacent un travailleur permanent en vertu d’un contrat de remplacement, ne rentrent pas en compte.

Pour les travailleurs intérimaires un régime particulier est en vigueur : au cours du 4e trimestre de l’année 2015, l’employeur doit tenir un registre, dans lequel il doit reprendre certaines données concernant les travailleurs intérimaires, travaillant chez lui pendant ce 4e trimestre.  Ces travailleurs intérimaires doivent être pris en compte pour le calcul du nombre de travailleurs, à l’exception des travailleurs intérimaires qui remplacent un travail permanent de l’employeur, dont l’exécution du contrat de travail est suspendue.

Dans des cas où le nombre (50 ou 100) se rapproche, il peut être utile de limiter au maximum l’appel au travailleurs intérimaires pendant le 4e trimestre 2015.

A mesure que la procédure de l’organisation des élections sociales progresse, les démarches à prendre seront expliquées plus en détails sur notre website dans une rubrique spéciale « élections sociales ».

Nous restons volontiers à votre disposition pour toute information ou assistance.

Leila Mstoian - leila.mstoian@peeters-law.be
Marcel Houben - marcel.houben@peeters-law.be


   
  Les élections sociales 2016 - Etape 1 - Le registre des travailleurs intérimaires  
  Les élections sociales 2016 - 1° Conseil - Les élections sociales dans le secteur de la construction  
  Les élections sociales 2016 - 2° Conseil - attention pour la période de protection occulte!  
  Les élections sociales ne sont pas un jeu!