VAT liability of legal persons operating
as director or liquidator
of a company

As from 1 January 2015, corporate entities operating as board member, director or liquidator will be submitted to VAT.

Until now, companies operating as member of the board of directors, director or liquidator were not obliged to subject themselves to VAT for the services they rendered. They had the option to register for VAT purposes for their activity as board member, director or liquidator.

The VAT administration has published recently a new decision concerning VAT liability of corporate entities operating as board member, director or liquidator of companies. (VAT Decision n° E.T. 125.189 of 20 November 2014).

1. VAT-liability as from 1 January 2015

As from 1 January 2015, the optional regime will be abolished. Companies operating as member of the board of directors, director or liquidator of companies will be submitted to VAT and VAT registration will become mandatory.

The companies, who are not yet registered for VAT purposes, will have the obligation to submit a form 604A in order to become a VAT registered taxable person.

Accordingly, they have to charge VAT on the services they supply as from 1 January 2015.

Bonuses or "tantièmes" granted as from 1 January 2015, will also be subject to VAT, even if they relate to previous fiscal years.

Attention! This decision is applicable for corporate entities. Individuals who operate as board member, director or liquidator of companies remain exempt from VAT obligations. 

2. Consequences of this new decision

In the past, a lot of corporate entities, serving as board member or director, have opted not to subject themselves to VAT, especially when the companies to which they rendered services were not entitled to a full deduction of VAT (e.g. insurance companies, financial institutions, hospitals, investment companies, etc.).

These companies will now see that the cost of these services will increase by the non-deductable VAT. Therefore this new rule might be an incentive to appoint individuals rather than corporate entities in their board. This is another rule to discourage the use of the management company.

Leo Peeters - leo.peeters@peeters-law.be

Les personnes morales agissant comme administrateur, gérant ou liquidateur de sociétés seront assujettis à la TVA

A partir du 1er janvier 2015, les personnes morales
agissant comme administrateur, gérant ou liquidateur
d'une société, seront assujettis à la TVA. 

A l'heure actuelle, ces personnes morales ne sont pas obligées de s'assujettir à la TVA et conservent la liberté d'opter ou non pour l'application du régime d'assujettissement à la TVA.

L'administration de la TVA a récemment publié une nouvelle décision à ce sujet. (Décision TVA n° E.T. 125.189 du 20 novembre 2014).

1. Assujetissement à la TVA à partir du 1er janvier 2015

A partir du 1er janvier 2015, le système optionnel ne sera plus d'application. Les personnes morales agissant comme administrateur, gérant ou liquidateur seront soumises aux règles normales de la TVA et devront par conséquent s'assujettir à la TVA.

Les personnes morales, qui ont opté dans le passé pour la non-identification, devront introduire le formulaire 604A afin de s'identifier à la TVA.

Les prestations, rendues à partir du 1er janvier 2015, devront être facturées avec TVA.

Les tantièmes, alloués à partir du 1 janvier 2015, seront également soumis à la TVA, même s'ils concernent des exercices antérieurs.

Attention! Ces nouvelles mesures ne seront d'application que sur les personnes morales. Cette décision ne concerne donc pas les personnes physiques agissant comme administrateur, gérant ou liquidateur de sociétés.

2. Les conséquences de cette décision

Dans le passé, plusieurs personnes morales, agissant comme administrateur, ont choisi de ne pas s'assujettir à la TVA, particulièrement s'il s'agissait d'entreprises qui n'avaient pas, ou partiellement pas, le droit de déduire la TVA (p.e. des compagnies d'assurances, des institutions financières, des hôpitaux, des compagnies d'investissement, etc...).

Or, en raison de l'augmentation du cout des rémunérations des administrateurs engendrée par cette nouvelle mesure, il est probable que ces sociétés soient dans le futur amenées à nommer des personnes physiques au lieu de personnes morales pour les mandats d'administrateur, de gérant ou de liquidateur. Par conséquent, il s'agit ici une fois de plus d'une mesure contre les sociétés de gestion.

Leo Peeters - leo.peeters@peeters-law.be