Price Media Law Moot Court
University of Oxford
24-27 March 2015

Last week I had the honour and pleasure to take part as a judge in the final oral rounds of the international Monroe E. Price Media Law Moot Court competition, which took place from 24 March until 27 March at Oxford’s Law Faculty.


This competition, founded in 2008 by the Program in Comparative Media Law and Policy at the University of Oxford, challenges students from all over the world to engage in comparative research of legal standards at the national and international levels, and to develop their arguments (written and oral) on frontier questions in media and ICT law.

Together with my colleague Lynn Pype from our office, our task was to judge the final moot court oral rounds in Oxford (including challenging the team’s legal arguments and expertise and providing over all feedback and assessment).  We were particularly impressed with the quality of the team’s arguments and of the high standard of competition amongst the teams.

The Price Media Law Moot Court Competition is more than a moot court. The Program is also an efficient tool for raising the profile of the media law and freedom of expression by encouraging informed and constructive discussion and debate on significant issues of information flows and technology around the world.

More information can be found on:
www.pricemootcourt.socleg.ox.ac.uk
www.facebook.com/PriceMootCourt

31 March 2015

Griet Verfaillie - griet.verfaillie@peeters-law.be

Price Media Law Moot Court
Université d'Oxford
24-27 mars 2015

La semaine dernière, j’ai eu l’honneur et le plaisir de participer en tant que juge aux manches orales finales du concours international de plaidoiries, Monroe E. Price Media Law Moot Court, qui avait lieu du 24 au 27 mars 2015 à la Faculté de Droit d’Oxford.


Ce concours, fondé en 2008 par le “Program in Comparative Media Law and Policy” (Programme de Droit des medias et la politique des medias comparé”) à l’Université d’Oxford, invite les étudiants de partout dans le monde à s’engager dans la recherche comparative des normes juridiques aux niveaux national et international, et de développer leurs arguments (par écrit et oralement) à des questions les plus actuelles en droit des médias et de l’ICT.

Ma collègue Lynn Pype et moi-même avions comme tâche de participer en tant que juge aux manches finales du concours de plaidoiries orales à l’Université d’Oxford, notamment un test sur les arguments juridiques et l’expertise des équipes, notre feed-back et enfin une évaluation. Nous étions particulièrement impressionnées par la grande qualité des arguments des équipes et du niveau élevé de la compétition entre les équipes.

Le “Price Media Law Moot Court” est même beaucoup plus qu’un simple concours de plaidoiries. Le programme est également un outil efficace pour rehausser le profil de la loi sur les médias et la liberté d’expression en encourageant une discussion et un débat documentés et constructifs sur des flux et technologies de l’information autour du monde.

De plus amples informations à ce sujet peuvent être trouvées sur:
www.pricemootcourt.socleg.ox.ac.uk
www.facebook.com/PriceMootCourt

31 mars 2015

Griet Verfaillie - griet.verfaillie@peeters-law.be