Step V : The elections

Upon the final establishment of the lists of the candidates (see step 4), the ballots for the WC and the CPPW could be prepared. Also the lists of the voters could be definitely closed and the electoral colleges could be finalized.

Obviously, there are separate electoral colleges for the WC and for the CPPW. In principle, there is each time a separate electoral college for the blue-collar workers and for the white-collar workers and, as the case may be, for the management personnel and the young workers (see step 3).

Also the polling committees could be assembled. In principle there is one polling committee for each electoral college. Derogations are allowed if circumstances so require (as an example because of the high number of voters or because the voters are located in different places). In such case, one polling committee is designated as the principal committee. A polling committee is composed of a chairman, a secretary and four assessors, who are part of the electoral college. Candidates are not allowed to be part of the polling committee. The parties, who have presented candidates, are allowed to appoint one witness for each polling committee.

All workers, eligible to vote, are convoked in writing to participate in the elections by handing over the convocation letter or by sending it to the workers who were absent at the time of handing over.

The voting takes place in the premises of the company at the date as fixed in the announcement posted in the company ninety days before. The timing of the voting is fixed in such a way that all workers can vote during working time. If that is impossible, the employer reimburses the travel cost to the workers who come to vote outside their working time. The voting takes place, in principle, on one single day, a normal working day.

The employer must make all means available to the polling committees in order to facilitate a secret ballot in a normal way.

The procedures of the voting itself (folding the ballots – handing over the ballots – deposit of the ballots, etc.) are generally parallel to the procedures for the town council elections, it being understood that voting by power of attorney is not possible and that mixed voting (nominal votes for candidates on different lists) is not allowed.

After closure of the electoral operations, the polling committee proceeds with the counting of the votes. If several polling committees have been established for the same electoral college, the principal committee is in charge of the counting. Elaborating in detail on this procedure would carry us too far away in the framework of this contribution, but, in general, also this procedure is quite parallel with the procedure for the town council elections:

separating the blank and invalid ballots, on the one hand, and the suspect ballots, on the other hand;

deciding on the validity or invalidity of the suspect ballots;

assembling the valid ballots for each list;

noting the nominal votes;

calculating the election figure;

determining the number of mandates for each list;

calculating the figure of eligibility;

designating the elected persons for each list, taking into consideration the list votes.

Upon closure of the vote counting the minutes are immediately established. The model of the minutes, as established by the Federal Public Service Employment, Work and Social Dialogue, is available here by clicking on SV-PV-N for Dutch and on ES-PV-F for French.

The original of the minutes are sent to the Director-general of the General Directorate Individual Employment Relations of the Federal Public Service Employment, Work and Social Dialogue, Ernest Blerotstraat 1, 1070 Brussels. As a substitute, a copy may be uploaded via the vehicle “documenten” on the web-application http://appsv2012.belgie.be. The results of the elections are also communicated to the FPS Employment, Work and Social Dialogue for statistical purposes. A copy of the minutes is handed to the employer, who keeps it during the whole period of the four years and is sent by registered mail to the workers and management personnel organizations that have participated in the elections.

At the latest one day after closing the electoral operations, the chairman hands all documents concerning the social elections to the employer in sealed envelopes; the employer keeps these during 25 days or – in the case of a recourse – until final decision of the employment jurisdictions.

At the latest two days after closing the electoral operations, the result of the elections is posted in the company premises, mentioning the elected representatives of the personnel and the representatives of the employer, with mention for both of the substitute members. This announcement remains posted until the 84th day following the day of the elections.

Recourse may be filed with the employment tribunal during a period of 15 days following the date of the elections.

Marcel HOUBENmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be

Etape V : Les élections

Suite à la clôture définitive des listes des candidats
(voir étape 4), les bulletins de vote peuvent être établis
de façon définitive pour le CE et le CPPT. De même pour les listes électorales et les collèges électoraux.

Il est évident que des collèges électoraux distincts doivent être composés pour le CE et le CPPT. En principe, il faut également des collèges électoraux distincts pour les ouvriers et les employés et, le cas échéant, pour les cadres et les jeunes travailleurs (voir étape 3).

De même pour les bureaux électoraux qui ont également été composés. En principe, la constitution d'un bureau électoral est nécessaire pour chaque collège électoral. Une dérogation est autorisée si les circonstances l’exigent (par exemple à cause d'un grand nombre d’électeurs ou au cas où les électeurs ne se trouvent pas au même endroit). Dans ce cas, un bureau sera désigné comme bureau principal.

Un bureau électoral est composé d’un président, d'un secrétaire et de quatre assesseurs, qui font partie du collège électoral. Les candidats sont exclus de participation à un bureau électoral. Les parties, qui ont proposé des candidats, ont le droit de désigner un témoin pour chaque bureau électoral.

Chaque électeur doit être convoqué à l'élection par l'employeur. Cette convocation lui est remise dans l'entreprise ou par envoi s'il n’était pas présent au moment de la remise en main.

Le vote a lieu nonante jours après l'affichage de l'avis annonçant la date des élections, dans les locaux de l’entreprise. Les heures de vote sont fixées de manière de permettre à tous les travailleurs de participer au vote pendant les heures de travail. En cas d’impossibilité, l’employeur rembourse les frais de déplacement à chaque travailleur qui vient voter en dehors de ses heures de travail. Le vote a lieu, en principe, pendant un jour unique, étant un jour ouvrable.

L’employeur doit accorder aux bureaux électoraux toutes les facilités nécessaires à assurer le vote secret d’une façon normale.

La procédure même du vote (plier les bulletins de vote – remise des bulletins de vote – dépôt des bulletins de vote, etc.) se déroule, en général, en parallèle à la procédure des élections communales, étant entendu que le vote par procuration est exclu et que le panachage (votes nominatifs pour des candidats de listes différents) n’est pas autorisé.

Après la clôture des opérations de vote, le bureau de vote procède au dépouillement du scrutin. Au cas où il y ait plusieurs bureaux de vote pour un collège de vote, le bureau principal est chargé du dépouillement du scrutin. L'élaboration en détail de cette procédure nous amènerait trop loin pour les besoins de cette contribution, mais, d’une manière générale, on peut admettre que cette procédure également est assez parallèle à la procédure des élections communales:

l'établissement d’une catégorie spéciale pour les bulletins blancs et nuls et d'un autre pour les bulletins suspects;

la décision sur la validité ou la nullité des bulletins suspects;

le rassemblement des bulletins donnant des suffrages valables par liste;

le dépouillement des votes nominatifs;

le calcul du chiffre électoral;

la détermination du nombre de mandats par liste;

le calcul du chiffre d'éligibilité;

la désignation des élus, tenant compte des votes valables en tête de liste, etc.

Immédiatement après la clôture du dépouillement du scrutin, les procès-verbaux doivent être établis. Le modèle de ce procès-verbal, tel qu'établi par le Service Public Fédéral Emploi, Travail et Concertation Social, est disponible en cliquant sur ES-PV-F.

L’original des procès-verbaux est envoyé au Directeur général de la Direction générale des Relations individuelles du Travail du SPF Emploi, Travail et Concertation sociale, 1 rue Ernest Blérot à 1070 Bruxelles. Cet envoi peut être remplacé par le téléchargement d'une copie de ce document vers l’onglet «documents» de l’application web http://appes2012.belgique.be. Les résultats du scrutin doivent également être communiqués au SPF Emploi, Travail et Concertation Sociale en vue de l'élaboration de statistiques. Une copie des procès-verbaux est remise à l’employeur, qui la conserve pendant toute la période des quatre ans et est envoyée par lettre recommandée aux organisations représentatives des travailleurs et des cadres qui ont participé aux élections.

Au plus tard le lendemain de la clôture des opérations électorales, le président remet à l’employeur dans des enveloppes scellées tous les documents relatifs aux élections sociales. L’employeur les conserve pendant 25 jour ou – en cas de recours – jusqu’à la décision définitive des juridictions de travail.

Au plus tard deux jours après la clôture des opérations de vote, le résultat des élections est affiché dans l’entreprise avec mention des représentants élus du personnel et les représentants de l’employeur, chaque fois avec mention des suppléants. Cet avis reste affiché jusqu’au 84ième jour suivant la date des élections.

Un recours peut être introduit auprès du tribunal du travail pendant une période de 15 jours suivant la date des élections.

Marcel HOUBENmarcel.houben@peeters-law.be