The "Regulated Real Estate Company"

The Belgian REIT Sector (Real Estate Investment Trust)
takes on status of "Regulated Real Estate Company"

The Regulated Real Estate Companies  (“RRECs") Act of 12 May 2014  aims at offering  the status of  "regulated real estate company” to real estate companies that wish to operate as an REIT (Real Estate Investment Trust)  and meet the legal characteristics of an RREC" (hereafter  the "RRECs Act").

The status of Regulated Real Estate Companies was introduced  for the Belgian REIT sector on 16 July 2014 by the  Royal Decree of 13 July 2014 regarding  regulated real estate companies.

This new RREC regulation offers an alternative for the traditional closed-end real estate investment company to a lot of real estate investors.

The new regulation came about because an amended legislation was imperative after recent EU legislation (more in particular the AIFMD) started considering traditional closed-end real estate investment companies as "alternative investment institutions", as a result of which a lot of additional obligations arise, without there being  a clear economic added value in return.

The tax concessions an RREC can benefit from will from now on be equal to those of a closed-end real estate investment company, and, provided that they meet certain conditions, allow companies to pay no corporate tax on income and capital gains they earn from real estate  they develop and manage. As a result, Belgium now also appears to have its own real estate investment vehicle without the more complex rules applying to investment funds being applicable.

Such a more flexible legislation is clearly inspired by the French "Société Immobilière réglementée" or by the "REIT" or "Real Estate Investment Trust" known in Germany and in the United Kingdom.

1.    Characteristics of an RREC – Specific Legal Framework

A regulated real estate company is a company formed for an indefinite period of time, licensed and supervised by the Financial Services and Markets Authority (hereafter FSMA) and defined in the RRECs Act on the basis of its activity.

This activity consists in making real estate available to users, directly or through a company in which it holds a participation, and possibly within the limits set for this purpose, owning other types of "real estate" (shares in public closed-end real estate investment companies, rights of participation in certain foreign collective investment institutions, shares issued by other REITs and real estate certificates).

Within that framework an RREC can perform all activities in connection with the construction, refurbishment, renovation, development (for its own portfolio), acquisition, disposal, management and exploitation of real estate.

Just as with close-end real estate investments companies, there are two types of RRECs: "public RRECs", whose shares are tradable on a regulated market and which attract the necessary financial resources through a public offer of shares, and "institutional RRECs" which are under the control of a public RREC and which attract  the necessary financial resources only from certain eligible investors acting on their own account.

The RREC needs to develop a strategy for the purpose of keeping its real estate in its possession for a long time, focusing on active management, which implies that the RREC itself is responsible for the development and the day-to-day management of its real estate.

Its activity will therefore be wider than the mere acquisition of real estate with the purpose of collecting rents and/or disposing of such real estate once more.

The RRECs Act specifically obliges the RREC to perform its activities itself,  maintain direct relationships with suppliers and clients, have operational teams that  in addition  should  be "a significant part of its staff". In other words, unlike as far as traditional investment funds are concerned  the management cannot be performed by a third party.

The essential difference from close-end real estate investment companies is that RRECs are required to develop and follow a business strategy, according to a general commercial purpose, namely making real estate available to various users. The essential task of a close-end real estate investment company, however, consists in investing funds collected from several investors according to a specific investment policy, in the interest of investors (in other words, the properties that are characteristic of an "alternative investment institution").  This means specifically that an RREC can develop a strategy that spans  the entire value-chain of the real estate sector, while as far as the AIFM status is concerned, only investments in real estate are possible.

Given their importance for the real economy and public savings, the RRECs will fall under the supervision of the FSMA. Just as is currently the case for a close-end real estate investment company, specific rules will be imposed in terms of maximum leverage ratio (still a maximum of 65%), risk diversification and the pay-out ratio, as such rules also exist for the REITs in the neighbouring Member States.

2.    Approval Procedure – Transitional Regime – Right of Exit

Any company that wants to obtain the RREC status should file a licence application with the FSMA, according to certain conditions and the procedure included in the Royal Decree of 16 July 2014.

From the entry into force of the RRECs Act (i.c. 16 July 2014), the existing  close-end real estate investment companies had a single four-month period (i.e. until 16 November) to apply for an RREC licence to the FSMA. Within the three months following the FSMA decision to grant the licence, a special general meeting of the close-end real estate investment company must be convened to give its views on the alteration of its Articles of Association.  At least 50% of the shareholders must be represented and 80% should approve the new status. If no 50% quorum is achieved, a second extraordinary general meeting will be held. Regardless of the number of shareholders represented, the rule here as well is that 80% of those present must vote in favour.

For existing shareholders, an exit mechanism has been provided for. Thanks to that mechanism shareholders voting against the alteration of the Articles of Association at the special general meeting can, subject to compliance with certain strict conditions (inter alia: minimum period of ownership, up to EUR 100,000.00 per shareholder, etc.), ask to repurchase their shares at a price equal to the highest of the following two elements: either the price prior to the publication of the invitation to attend the special general meeting, or the average closing price for thirty days prior to the special general meeting. The company may impose a condition precedent stipulating that such exit may be asked only by a small percentage of shareholders.

Although this stage may result in certain practical problems and difficulties (voting against an alteration of the Articles of Association, liquidity problems, etc.), in principle there should be no problems, because it is in the interest of the closed-end real estate investment companies, and therefore of the shareholders, to opt for the RREC status.

3. Conclusion

Up to now and broadly speaking the transformation process of the public closed-end real estate investment companies turns out to be a success.

03 March 2015

Pieter Dierckx - pieter.dierckx@peeters-law.be
Leo Peeters - leo.peeters@peeters-law.be


Learn more about this topic: subscribe to our newsletter!

E-mail *

La "Société Immobilière Réglementée"

Le secteur belge des REIT (Real Estate Investment Trust)
obtient le statut de "Société Immobilière Réglementée"


La loi du 12 mai 2014 relative aux Sociétés Immobilières Réglementées (« SIR ») vise à permettre aux entreprises immobilières qui veulent opérer comme un REIT (Real Estate Investment Trust) et qui répondent aux caractéristiques décrites dans la loi relative à la SIR (« la loi SIR »), à accéder au statut de «société immobilière réglementée».

L’Arrêté Royal du 13 juillet 2014 relatif aux sociétés immobilières réglementées a introduit le statut de Société Immobilière Réglementée pour le secteur belge des REIT.

Cette nouvelle réglementation SIR offre pour beaucoup d’investisseurs immobiliers une alternative aux traditionnelles sicafis immobilières.

Cette nouvelle loi a été adoptée suite à la récente réglementation européenne (la directive AIFM) qui considère désormais les sicafis immobilières comme des « organismes de placement alternatif » lesquelles engendrent nombre  d’obligations supplémentaires sans que cela n’apporte de réelle plus-value.

Le régime de faveur fiscal dont peut désormais profiter une SIR est comparable à celui d’une sicafi immobilière ; il autorise les sociétés, moyennant satisfaction à des conditions déterminées, à ne pas payer d’impôt des sociétés sur les revenus et les plus-value qui sont obtenus sur les biens immobiliers dont ils assurent le développement et la gestion. Ainsi, la Belgique semble avoir son propre véhicule d’investissement immobilier sans que les règles plus complexes qui valent pour les fonds d’investissement ne soient d’application.

Une réglementation dotée d’une telle souplesse est clairement inspirée par la « Société Immobilière Réglementée » de droit français et par la « REIT » ou le « Real Estate Investment Trust » que l’on retrouve en Allemagne ou au Royaume-Uni.

1. Caractéristiques de la SIR – cadre juridique spécifique

La société immobilière réglementée est une société créée pour une durée indéterminée, autorisée par et soumise au contrôle de l’Autorité des services et marchés financiers  (« FSMA ») et qui dans la loi SIR est définie par son activité.

Cette activité consiste à mettre – directement ou par le biais d’une société dans laquelle elle détient une participation – des immeubles à la disposition d’utilisateurs, et, éventuellement, dans les limites prévues à cet effet, à détenir d’autres types de « biens immobiliers » (actions dans des sicafis publiques, parts dans certains OPC immobiliers étrangers, actions émises par d’autres REIT et certificats immobiliers).

La SIR peut dans ce cadre exercer toutes les activités liées à la construction, l’aménagement, la rénovation, le développement (pour son propre portefeuille), l’acquisition, la cession, la gestion et l’exploitation d’immeubles.

Comme pour les sicafis, il y a deux sortes de SIR : les « SIR publiques » qui peuvent avoir recours à l’appel publique à l’épargne et dont les titres sont admis à la négociation sur un marché réglementé, et les « SIR institutionnels » qui sont sous le contrôle d’un SIR publique et qui ne peuvent récolter des fonds qu’auprès d’investisseurs spécifiques agissant uniquement pour leur propre compte.

La SIR doit développer une stratégie qui puisse lui permettre de conserver ses biens immobiliers sur le long terme ; il est donc primordial qu’elle développe une gestion active, ce qui implique qu’elle soit elle-même responsable du développement et de la gestion quotidienne de ses biens immobiliers.

Son activité sera donc plus large que la simple acquisition de biens immobiliers pour en percevoir les loyers et/ou les revendre.

La loi SIR impose de manière spécifique aux SIR le fait que ses activités sont exercées par elle-même, qu’elle doit entretenir des relations directes avec ses clients et fournisseurs, qu’elle doit disposer d’équipes opérationnelles qui doivent représenter « une partie substantielle de son personnel ». Autrement dit, la gestion ne peut pas être confiée à un tiers comme c’est le cas dans les OPC classiques.

La différence essentielle avec les sicafi est que les SIR doivent développer et suivre une stratégie, en fonction de leurs objectifs commerciaux, notamment la mise à disposition de biens immobiliers au profit de différents utilisateurs. Au contraire, la mission essentielle d’une sicafi consiste à lever des fonds auprès d’investisseurs pour les investir conformément à une politique d’investissement définie dans l’intérêt de ces investisseurs (en d’autres termes, les propriétés qui caractérisent les « organismes de placement alternatifs »). La SIR peut développer une stratégie qui peut s’étendre le long de toute la chaîne de production de valeur du secteur immobilier alors que sous le statut-AIFM il ne peut être envisagé que des investissements dans des biens immobiliers.

Compte tenu de l’importance pour l’économie réelle et pour l’épargne publique, les SIR seront soumises au contrôle prudentiel de la FSMA. Comme c’est le cas pour le moment pour les sicafis, des règles spécifiques seront imposées quant au taux maximal d’endettement (toujours de 65%), la diversification des risques et le pay-out ratio, à l’instar des règles qui existent aujourd’hui pour les REIT et dans les Etats membres voisins.

2. Procédure d’agrément – régime transitoire pour sicafi – droit de retrait

Toute société qui va opérer sous le statut de SIR, est tenue de solliciter un agrément auprès de la FSMA, selon la procédure et les conditions déterminées par l’Arrêté Royal du 16 juillet 2014.

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la loi SIR (16 juillet 2014), les sicafis concernées disposaient d’une période unique de quatre mois (jusqu’au 16 novembre 2014) pour introduire une demande d’agrément à la FSMA afin d’opérer sous le statut de SIR. Endéans les 3 mois suivant la décision de la FSMA d’accorder le statut de SIR, une assemblée générale extraordinaire des sicafis concernées doit être convoquée pour statuer sur la modification des statuts.

L’approbation par l’assemblée générale extraordinaire de la modification de l’objet social (et donc l’approbation du changement de statut vers le statut de SIR) exige un quorum de présence de 50% des actions. Dans le cas où ce quorum n’est pas atteint lors de la première assemblée générale, une seconde assemblée générale doit être convoquée. La majorité de 80% des voix est nécessaire, peu importe le nombre des actionnaires représentés.

Pour les actionnaires existants il est prévu un mécanisme de retrait. Grâce à ce mécanisme, tout actionnaire ayant voté contre la proposition de modification de statut pourra, moyennant le respect de conditions très strictes (entre autre : période minimale de possession des actions, droit de retrait limité à 100.000 EUR par actionnaire,…), exercer un droit de retrait, au prix le plus élevé entre : soit le cours de l’action au jour qui précède la publication de la convocation de l’assemblée générale extraordinaire, soit la moyenne des cours de clôture des trente jours calendrier précédant la date de l’assemblée générale extraordinaire qui approuve la modification des statuts. La société peut subordonner ce changement  de statut à la condition que le nombre d’actions pour lequel le droit de retrait est exercé ne dépasse pas un certain pourcentage du capital qu’elle fixe.

Bien que ces étapes puissent engendrer des problème et difficultés (votes contre un changement de statut, problèmes de liquidité,…), ils seront en principe surmontés sans problème car il est dans l’intérêt des sicafis et donc des actionnaires d’opter pour le statut SIR.

3. Conclusion

Jusqu’à présent, il semble que la réforme des sicafis publiques puisse être considérée comme un succès.

03 mars 2015

Pieter Dierckx - pieter.dierckx@peeters-law.be
Leo Peeters - leo.peeters@peeters-law.be

En savoir plus sur ce sujet: inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter

E-mail *


   
  La clause d'earn-out dans la convention d'achat d'actions  
  Les PME mieux informées sur le droit belge de la concurrence  
  Prix de transfert - Obligations complémentaires de déclaration  
  Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) Principaux changements  
  Nouvelle procédure pour le recouvrement de dettes incontestées en B2B  
  Carnet de route concernant des fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (1° partie)  
  Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (2° partie)  
  Obligation de notification en cas d'une violation de données à caractère personnel  
  Le délégué à la protection des données  
  L'utilisation des images de caméra comme moyen de preuve  
  Comment peut-on exercer son droit à l'oubli?  
  La saisie sur des comptes bancaires à l’étranger est facilitée  
  La réintégration des malades de longue durée : Réintégration dans l’entreprise  
  Crowdfunding - Update  
  La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable »  
  Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (3° partie)  
  Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (4° partie) - Financement des acquisitions  
  Modifications de la loi sur les SIR approuvée par la Chambre