Transfer of copyright from an
employee to the employer

How to qualify the remuneration?

Following a recent judgement by the Belgian Supreme
Court the remuneration that an employee receives from
his employer for the transfer of his copyright in creations
or performances is described as "salary" on which
social security contributions are due.

Lately, numerous comments were published regarding the qualification of this remuneration received by an employee for the transfer of his copyright to the employer.

Not least as a result of a judgement of the Belgian Supreme Court ("Cour de Cassation") on 15 September 2014 where the Court held that the fee, that a performing artist receives from his employer for the transfer of his property rights, must be considered as "salary". Hence, social security contributions are due.

But also because of the legal tax treatment on copyright and its application by the ruling commission.


1. Starting point is the copyright

The Act on Copyright and Neighbouring rights of 30 June 1994 (hereinafter: Copyright Act) grants copyright protection to authors of literary works and artistic works and neighbouring rights to the performance of performing artistes.

Are eligible for protection: inter alia, writers, artists, painters, designers, copywriters, performers (musicians, actors) but also marketers or software developers as long as the work or performance falls under the scope of copyright protection.

As a general rule the Copyright Act provides that, even if these works are accomplished in the context of an employment contract, the property rights belong to the employee.

With computer programs on the other hand there is a legal presumption of transfer in favour of the employer.

In order to exploit these intellectual or artistic performances, it is necessary for the employee to agree, in exchange for remuneration, to the transfer of his property rights to the employer within the framework of the employment contract.

Hereafter, we examine the social and tax law aspects of this remuneration in the employee-employer relationship.

2. Social law aspects: the judgement of the Belgian Supreme Court of 15 September 2014

In the case that forms the basis of the Courts judgement, social security authorities claimed social security contributions on the remuneration that employee-musicians received in exchange for the transfer of property rights they had created in a music group in which they were connected by means of an employment contract.

The Labour Court of Appeal of Ghent, by a judgement of 6 January 2011, ruled against the social security authorities by emphasizing that “the delivery of artistic performances creates a personal property right for the performer, even if delivered in an employment relationship". The Court further added that "this cession of neighbouring property rights has to be treated separately from the services provided by the performing artist-employee, for which he is compensated as an employee (and therefore receives a salary)."

Social security authorities appealed to the Supreme Court who annuled the decision of the Ghent Labour Court of Appeal, with the following arguments.

First, the Court interprets the salary concept within the meaning of the Social Security Act. It is based on Article 14, §1 Social Security Act and Article 23, paragraph 1 of the Law on the general principles of Social Security which refers to Article 2 of the Law on the salary protection.

Should be considered as “salary” according to this article, "the salary in money and advantages that can be expressed in money to which the employee is entitled under his employment contract at the expense of the employer.

Subsequently, the Court refers to Article 35, §3, paragraph 1 of the Copyright Act which provides in the explicit transfer by the employee to the employer for as long as the performance falls within the scope of the agreement (i.e. activities agreed in the contract) or its statute.

The Supreme Court concludes "from the aforementioned legal provisions and their interaction" that this remuneration must be qualified as salary and argues as follows.

The remuneration (...) for the transfer of the property rights to which an employee has committed itself when entering the employment contract, is a quid pro quo for the transfer of rights in relation to a performance, which has occurred during the performance of the employment contract. That remuneration is therefore, as a rule, a benefit to which the employee is entitled pursuant to his employment contract and is thus part of the salary on which social security contributions are calculated.

However, the exact scope of this decision is still unclear.

It is not yet determined if it should be also considered as a “salary” if the employee later than when entering into the employment agreement, either during the performance of the agreement or at the termination thereof, commits itself to the transfer of its property rights.

In its final consideration, the Court also emphasizes the fixed nature at the remuneration and the fact that it was paid during the actual time of employment.

We now have to wait for new disputes to be settled by the Court in order to solve these and other questions.

However, it seems appropriate to pay social security contributions on this remuneration that is paid to employees.

3. Tax law aspects "agreement in line with reality”

It is known that the legislator introduced since 2008 a favourable tax regime (Act 16 July 2008) in respect of the remuneration for the transfer of copyright and neighbouring rights.

This income is, up to € 56.450 (€ 57.080 for the tax year 2015) considered as a movable income and subject to a 15% withholding tax (after deduction of an attractive expense amount).

Above this ceiling the income referred to above is considered as a movable income unless its origin is founded in the professional activity.

In the case of an employee who transfers its copyrights to his employer, the excess of this ceiling is treated as professional income and that portion is taxable at the marginal rate.

Employees can also benefit from this favourable tax regime. The Administrative circular (Ci. AAFisc Nr. 36/2014 (no. Ci.RH.231/631.675) of 4 September 2014) provides an explanation on how the employer has to deal with this tax regime in practice.

First of all, to qualify this remuneration properly, a division is necessary between:
- The remuneration as consideration for the exercise of his profession, which is taxable as a professional income;
- The remuneration obtained following the transfer of the copyright or neighbouring rights.

Nevertheless, up to now, there is still uncertainty. Since there is no legal chart or reference to determine the amount that specifically relates to the transfer of copyright, the question arises how the size of the remuneration has to be calculated.

The circular provides in four possible situations:

- If the contract provides in a scale of apportionment or in a separate remuneration dependant on the professional income (the exercise of the profession itself or the transfer of copyright or neighbouring rights), reference is made to this scale of apportionment as provided in the contract;
- If the contract particularly provides in an overall remuneration for the transfer of copyright or neighbouring rights, the rights are considered to be transferred or granted for free;
- If the contract only provides in a transfer of copyright or neighbouring rights, and not in the performance of the artist, the entire remuneration will be considered refering to the transfer;
- If the contract does not provide in a transfer of copyright or neighbouring rights, the favourable tax regime is not applicable and there is not an a priori application of the movable income.

Notwithstanding these situations strongly emphasize on the will of the parties to capture the scale of apportionment by contract, the circular contrasts sharply with the practice of the ruling commission. Up to now, there are still doubts about the correct interpretation.

It is possible that a scale of apportionment for the remuneration for a transfer of copyrights, as agreed in accordance with the circular, is nevertheless held back by the ruling commission, depending on the region in which the taxpayer requests a ruling from the inspection service.

As a matter of fact, soon appears the phantom of a fraud or anti- abuse provision. Pursuant a number of parliamentary questions, the Minister of Finance tried to calm things down by providing clarity.

In essence, the minister states that the agreement must "be in line with reality.", where it is emphasized that the circular gives an explanation of the general principles, but that the tax qualification of such income must be assessed on a "case by case" basis.

Since fraud can only be assumed if infringements are committed with the intention of fraud or to commit damage, only those who deliberately avoid taxes are targeted.

4. Consequences in practice?

It is not new that the employer must make a split between the remuneration he pays to his employee for the exercise of his profession and the fee for the transfer of copyright.

Fiscally, this remuneration is considered as a movable income, subject to the favourable rate of 15 % withholding tax. As a result, the partial remuneration of the employee on the basis of copyright still remains beneficial. It now appears that the scale of apportionment on the level of the remuneration may be agreed by a contract as long as the agreement is "in line with reality."

However, employers have to keep in mind, since the judgement of the Supreme Court and from an employment law perspective, that this remuneration is qualified as "a salary" with as result that social security contributions are due.

It is recommended that employers, who want to make use of the favourable tax regime to pay their employees, verify the most recent interpretations of the qualification of that remuneration.

We are monitoring these developments closely.

18 December 2014

Jan Vanbeckevoort - jan.vanbeckevoort@peeters-law.be
Griet Verfaillie - griet.verfaillie@peeters-law.be

Learn more about this topic: subscribe to our newsletter!

E-mail *

La cession de droits d’auteur
par un travailleur à son employeur

Comment qualifier la rétribution
de la cession ?

A la suite d’un arrêt de la Cour de cassation du
15 septembre 2014, la rétribution qu’un travailleur
reçoit de son employeur en contrepartie de la cession
de droits d’auteur sur ses créations ou prestations doit
être qualifiée de « salaire » sur lequel sera prélevé
des cotisations sociales.

La question de la qualification des rétributions versées en contrepartie de la cession de droits d’auteur entre un travailleur et son employeur a déjà suscité de nombreux commentaires.

A la suite d’un arrêt de la Cour de cassation du 15 septembre 2014, la rétribution qu’un travailleur reçoit de son employeur en contrepartie de la cession de droits d’auteur sur ses créations ou prestations doit être qualifiée de « salaire » sur lequel sera prélevé des cotisations sociales.

En parallèle, nous examinerons le traitement fiscal des droits d’auteur et l’application qu’en fait la Commission de Ruling.


1. Le point de départ en droit d’auteur

La loi du 30 juin 1994 relative aux droits d’auteur et aux droits voisins (ci après, « Loi sur les droits d’auteur ») offre d’une part une protection aux auteurs d’œuvres littéraires et artistiques sous le couvert de droits d’auteur, et d’autre part, une protection aux artistes-interprètes sous le couvert de droit voisins.

Cette protection concerne, entre autres, les écrivains, les artistes, les peintres, les créateurs, les  rédacteurs, les artistes-interprètes (musiciens, acteurs) et les développeurs de software pour autant que les créations soient susceptibles de protection.

La règle générale contenu dans la loi sur les droits d’auteur, prévoit que même dans l’hypothèse où une création devait être développée à l’occasion d’un contrat de travail, la propriété de cette invention demeure reconnue au travailleur.

Par exception à cette règle générale, en matière de programmation informatique règne une particularité ; une présomption de cession de la propriété à l’avantage de l’employeur.

Afin que l’employeur puisse exploiter ces prestations intellectuelles et artistiques, il est donc nécessaire que la convention de travail, en vigueur entre le travailleur et l’employeur prévoit, en échange d’une rétribution au profit du travailleur, un transfert du droit de propriété à l’avantage de l’employeur.

La suite de la contribution s’attachera à examiner, à la lumière du droit fiscal et du droit de la sécurité social, les caractéristiques et conséquence du paiement de cette rétribution au profit du travailleur.

2. Droit de la sécurité sociale : l’arrêt de la Cour de cassation du 15 septembre 2014

Dans l’affaire ayant donné lieu à l’arrêt de cassation du 15 septembre 2014, l’Office nationale de sécurité sociale (ONSS) revendiquait le paiement de contributions sociales sur les rétributions que des musiciens-employés avaient reçues en échange de la cession de leurs droits de propriété sur leurs créations à une société musicale à laquelle ils étaient liés en raison d’une convention de travail.

La Cour du travail de Gent, dans un arrêt du 6 juin 2011, a donné tort à l’ONSS en soulignant que « les prestations artistiques permettent aux artistes prestataires de disposer d’un droit de propriété personnel même si ces prestations artistiques sont exécutées sous la forme d’une prestation de service». En outre, la Cour ajoute que « la renonciation aux droits voisins n’a rien à voir avec l’exécution des prestations fournies par l’artiste-interprète pour lesquelles il a reçu une récompense en tant que travailleur (sous la forme d’un salaire) ».

L’Office nationale de sécurité sociale a gagné la partie.

La Cour de cassation casse cet arrêt le 15 septembre 2014. Elle construit son raisonnement de la manière suivante.

Premièrement, la Cour de cassation interprète la notion de salaire selon la législation relative à la sécurité sociale. Elle se base sur l’article 14, §1er, de Loi révisant l'arrêté-loi du 28 décembre 1944 concernant la sécurité sociale des travailleurs et sur l’article 23, premier alinéa, de la Loi établissant les principes généraux de la sécurité sociale des travailleurs salariés dans laquelle il est renvoyé à l’article 2 de la Loi concernant la protection de la rémunération des travailleurs.

Selon cet article, la notion de « salaire » comprend, d’une part, le salaire en espèce, et d’autre part, les avantages appréciables en argent auxquels le travailleur a droit en rémunération de son travail.

Par conséquent, la Cour de cassation se réfère à l’article 35, §3, premier alinéa de la Loi sur les droits d’auteur qui prévoit que lorsque des prestations sont effectuées par un travailleur en exécution d’un contrat de travail, les droits patrimoniaux peuvent être cédés à l’employeur pour autant que la cession des droits soit expressément prévue et que la prestation entre dans le champ du contrat.

La Cour de cassation déduit des dispositions légales précitées que ces rétributions doivent être qualifiées de salaire.

La Cour argumente son raisonnement de la manière suivante.

La rétribution pour la cession des droits patrimoniaux à laquelle un travailleur s’était engagé par la conclusion d’une contrat de travail, est une contre prestation pour la cession de droit en rapport avec une prestation qui devait être fournie dans le cadre de l’exécution d’un contrat de travail. La récompense est donc en règle un avantage auquel le travailleur a droit en raison de son emploi et fait donc bien partie du salaire sur lequel sera prélevé des cotisations sociales.

La portée précise de l’arrêt n’est pourtant pas encore très claire.

Ainsi, il n’est, par exemple, pas facile de savoir s’il est aussi question de salaire quand le travailleur s’engage à céder ses droits patrimoniaux non pas à l’occasion du contrat de travail initial le liant à son employeur mais à l’occasion d’un contrat subséquent à celui-ci conclu soit pendant l’exécution du contrat de travail, soit à la résiliation de celui-ci.

Dans ses conclusions, la Cour met aussi l’accent sur le caractère forfaitaire de la rétribution et sur le fait que celle ci ait été payée pendant la période de travail effective du travailleur.

Pour répondre à ces questions, il faudra attendre un prochain arrêt de la Cour de cassation.

Toutefois, il semble déjà que le travailleur sera dans l’obligation de payer des cotisations sociales sur le montant de cette rétribution.

3. Droit fiscal : «correspondre à la réalité»

Le législateur a depuis 2008 (loi du 16 juillet 2008) introduit un système fiscal favorable concernant les rétributions pour la cession de droits d’auteur et de droits voisins.

Jusque € 56.450 (€ 57.080 pour l’année comptable 2015), ces dernières sont toujours considérées comme revenus mobiliers (article 17, §1er,5°, CIR) et soumises au précompte mobilier de 15% (en déduction des frais forfaitaires).

Au dessus de ce plafond, les revenus en questions seront des revenus mobiliers sauf s’ils trouvent leur origine dans l’activité de travail.

Dans le cas d’une travailleur qui cède ses droits d’auteur à un employeur, la partie de la rétribution excédant les plafonds mentionnés sera qualifiée de revenu du travail et sera donc imposable au taux marginal d’imposition.

Les travailleurs peuvent aussi profiter de ce système fiscal avantageux. La circulaire administrative (Ci. AAFisc Nr. 36/2014 (nr. Ci.RH.231/631.675) du 4 septembre 2014) donne plus d’explications aux travailleurs sur la manière de procéder pour qu’ils puissent profiter de ce système fiscal avantageux.

Tout d’abord, afin de parvenir à qualifier les revenus, il convient de distinguer :
- d’une part, la rétribution de la prestation de l’auteur ou de l’artiste, c.-à-d. les revenus obtenus en contrepartie de l’exercice de son activité. Cette rétribution est en principe imposable à titre de revenus professionnels (profits ou rémunérations);
- d’autre part, la rétribution résultant de la cession ou de la concession à un tiers de droits d’auteur, droits voisins ou de licences légales et obligatoires afférents à une œuvre littéraire et artistique.

Cependant, il existe à l'heure actuelle une certaine incertitude. Etant donné qu’il n’existe pas de table de référence pour déterminer la part exacte en rapport avec la cession de droits d’auteur, on peut se poser la question de savoir comment le montant de cette rétribution doit être calculé.

La circulaire prévoit quatre situations :

- si le contrat prévoit une clé de répartition ou une rétribution distincte en fonction de l’objet rémunéré (exercice-même de la profession ou cession/concession de droits d’auteur ou de droits voisins), on se réfèrera à la clé de répartition prévue au contrat;
- si le contrat prévoit une rétribution globale pour la cession ou la concession de droits d’auteur ou de droits voisins, (donc sans identifier la partie des revenus rémunérant ladite cession ou concession), il est considéré que les droits sont censés être cédés ou concédés à titre gratuit ;
- si le contrat prévoit uniquement la cession ou la concession de droits d’auteur ou de droits voisins, et non pas la prestation d’artiste, la totalité de la rétribution est censée afférente à la cession ou la concession de droits d’auteur ou de droits voisins;
- si le contrat ne prévoit pas de cession ou de concession de droits d’auteur, ou de droits voisins, il n’y a a priori pas d’application des dispositions de l’article 17, §1er, 5°, CIR 92 et le système fiscal favorable n'est pas d'application.

Malgré qu’au vu des quatre situations exposées ci-dessus, la volonté des parties apparaisse comme fondamentale pour déterminer la clé de répartition, ce système semble en opposition frappante avec la pratique de la Commission de Ruling. Jusqu’à maintenant, il existe donc encore des doutes quant à sa juste interprétation.

Il est donc possible qu'une clé de répartition, qui a été fixée en accord avec la circulaire concernant la rétribution en contrepartie de la cession des droits d’auteur, soit encore retenue par la suite par la Commission de Ruling et ce dépendamment de la région dans laquelle le contribuable demande un ruling fiscal à l'inspection des contributions.

Dès lors, émerge la menace de fraude ou la disposition anti-abus de l’article 344, §1 du CIR 92. En réponse à une série de questions parlementaires, le ministre des finances a tenté de calmer les esprits et de clarifier la situation.

Pour l’essentiel, le ministre indique que la convention doive quoi qu’il en soit « correspondre avec la réalité ». Il a aussi insisté sur le fait que bien que la circulaire instruit les principes généraux, la qualification fiscale des revenus devra être établie au cas par cas.

Etant donné que la fraude suppose une infraction avec intention frauduleuse ou avec dessein de nuire, uniquement les personnes esquivant l’impôt de manière consciente seront visées.

4. Les conséquences en pratique?

Il n’est pas nouveau que l’employeur doive faire une distinction entre les rétributions qu’il paye au travailleur en contrepartie de ses prestations de travail et celles qu’il paye au travailleur en contrepartie de la cession de droits d’auteur.

Sur le plan fiscal, cette rétribution est considérée comme un revenu mobilier soumis au précompte mobilier favorable de 15%. De la sorte, une rémunération partielle du travailleur sur la base des droits d’auteur reste encore intéressante. Actuellement, il semble que la clé de répartition concernant la hauteur de la rétribution peut être constatée de manière contractuelle aussi longtemps qu’elle « corresponde avec la réalité ».

Sur le plan du droit social, depuis l’arrêt de la Cour de cassation, l’employeur devra tenir compte que la rétribution sera qualifiée de « salaire » de sorte que des contributions sociales seront dues sur ce montant.

L’employeur qui en partie rémunèrera son travailleur en droit d’auteur, devra tenir compte des différentes interprétations les plus récentes au sujet de la qualification des rétributions.

Nous poursuivrons les développements futurs.

18 décembre 2014

Jan Vanbeckevoort - jan.vanbeckevoort@peeters-law.be
Griet Verfaillie - griet.verfaillie@peeters-law.be

En savoir plus sur ce sujet: inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter

E-mail *


   
  La clause d'earn-out dans la convention d'achat d'actions  
  Les PME mieux informées sur le droit belge de la concurrence  
  Prix de transfert - Obligations complémentaires de déclaration  
  Les indemnités de procédure dans les litiges en matière de propriété intellectuelle mis en question  
  Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) Principaux changements  
  Recommandation pour les professionnels économiques intervenant auprès des entreprises en difficulté  
  Le fournisseur d'un réseau WIFI, supporte-t-il la responsabilité pour des infractions aux droits de propriété intellectuelle par un tiers utilisateur ?  
  Nouvelle procédure pour le recouvrement de dettes incontestées en B2B  
  Carnet de route concernant des fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (1° partie)  
  Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (2° partie)  
  Les adresses IP dynamiques peuvent être des données à caractère personnel  
  Obligation de notification en cas d'une violation de données à caractère personnel  
  Le délégué à la protection des données  
  L'utilisation des images de caméra comme moyen de preuve  
  Comment peut-on exercer son droit à l'oubli?  
  La saisie sur des comptes bancaires à l’étranger est facilitée  
  La réintégration des malades de longue durée : Réintégration dans l’entreprise  
  Crowdfunding - Update  
  La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable »