The government protocol
read through social glasses

The government protocol gave rise to quite some commotion
on the part of interest groups, not the least on the part
of the trade unions and the employers’ federations.
Traditionally, both took, completely opposite position.

Although the employers did find some positive ideas, they – also as tradition wants – considered the plans not going far enough. The trade unions, on the contrary, rejected the protocol as absolutely unacceptable. The actions, taken so far and those announced for the future, are in accordance with that position.

Yet, it is striking that it is emphasized repeatedly in the government protocol that the proposed measures constitute a continuation and/or an enhancement of the measures taken by the Di Rupo government. Moreover, Di Rupo himself commented scornfully that 70% of the announced measures were already initiated by his government.

The important difference between, on the one hand, the extreme reaction of the trade unions against this government protocol and, on the other hand, the moderate reactions of the trade unions following the Di Rupo government protocol is quite striking.

Could it be that the trade union actions so far and the actions, yet to come, are (also) somewhat politically coloured?

Below, some of the social aspects of the government protocol are more closely examined.

1. The social consultation model

One of the main reproaches on the part of the trade unions towards the government was the fact that – according to the trade union allegations – the government did not show any willingness, during the governmental negotiations as well as thereafter, to have social consultation with the industrial relations partners.

In the past, the politicians did sometimes set aside social consultation in cases of emergency: the special powers, granted by the parliament to one of the Martens governments, serve as a typical example.

However, this does not affect the firm fact that social consultation has always taken an uncontested important part in Belgian politics and that this role has not been challenged. A government, which would fail to appreciate the social consultation model from the outset, would certainly make life extremely difficult from the beginning and could even be suspected of having some masochistic tendences.

Contrary to the allegations of the trade unions, the government seems to consider social consultation very important: the second page of the government protocol is completely dedicated to the importance, according to the government, of social consultation to introduce reforms successfully, and to the undertaking of the government to get the industrial relations partners involved in the realization of its goals. Likewise, in the chapters of the government protocol, dealing with social items – in its broad sense –, reference is made repeatedly to consultation of the industrial relations partners.

Hence, the reproaches of the trade unions seem premature.

2. Reduction of the salary cost handicap

One of the main goals, which the Michel government imposed itself, is “maximum growth and job creation”. In order to accomplish that goal, the government considers it necessary to enhance the competitiveness of the Belgian enterprises.

One of the most important means within that framework is the reduction of the salary cost handicap in comparison with our surrounding countries (France, The Netherlands and Germany).

Three measures, announced within that context, are further commented on below:

2.1. Amendment of the law of 1996

The law of 26 July 1996 promoting employment and proactive safeguarding competitiveness was enacted due to the pressure, exercised by Dehaene, Prime-Minister at that time.

It was the first time that a measure was taken, which explicitly aimed at tuning the salary cost increase in Belgium on the salary cost increase in the surrounding countries. Based on this law, the authorized maximum salary cost increase in Belgium, including the increase resulting from the anticipated index increases of the salaries, was fixed each year in consideration of the salary cost in our surrounding countries.

However, during the last years, this legislation was no longer rigorously implemented.

The Michel government undertakes to at least undo by the end of its legislature the salary handicap, which arose since 1996 in comparison with the surrounding countries.

To achieve that goal, the government not only wants to see more strictly to the implementation of the law, but it also wants to amend the law (read: tighten the law).
The annual determination of the authorized maximum increase of the salary cost is in the first place left to the industrial relations partners. However, if they can not reach an agreement, the government will take over that task.
If the industrial relations partners agree, the agreement must be laid down in a collective labour agreement concluded in the National Labour Council. By using the mechanism of rendering compulsory, such a CLA is binding for the sectors.
The means for seeing to compliance are rendered more severe and an automatic correction mechanism will be introduced in the case of a failure to comply.

2.2. A reduction of the charges

The government wants to reduce the employers’ social security contributions by the end of the legislature in such a way that the basic percentage amounts to 25%.

Knowing that the normal rate at present amounts to 33% to 35% - depending on the number of personnel -, the achievement of that goal will be a true feat.

The real meaning of the notion “basic percentage” remains in any event an open question and it seems that the “box of Pandora” will be opened from time to time, particularly when reading some parts of the government protocol (by way of example: “The budget for the lump sum structural decreases, including the increases decided upon with the frame work of the competitiveness pact, shall contribute to this reduction of the basic rate” and “The budget for “high salaries” contributes to the reduction of the basic rate in such a way that the effective rate for the low salaries shall in any event not increase as compared to the situation at present, inclusive of the measures of the competitiveness pact.”).

It is, in any case, the intention that no single employer will be loosing as a result of these reforms, “… taking into consideration, however, the law on competitiveness.”

2.3. An “index leap” in 2015

It is not surprising that this measure, taking only two lines in the government protocol of almost 150 pages, is one of the most contested ones.

The automatic linking of the salaries to the consumer price index is a symbol for the trade unions of the social achievements in Belgium. It is, worldwide, an (almost) unique system, particularly because the salary increases follow automatically from the increases of the consumer price index. As a result, automatic salary increases are a fully integrated part of the system, contrary to the situation in the surrounding countries.

To break that spell, the government wants to apply an index leap in 2015.

The question remains what exactly is meant by “an index leap”. The way the system of linking the salaries to the consumer price index functions in practice, is worked out for each sector in a separate sector CLA.

So, in some sectors the salary is adapted once each year (mostly on the 1st of January of the year). In other sectors, the salaries are adapted only if and when the index has increased with a certain percentage (1.50%, 2%, …). In yet other sectors, the salaries are adapted much faster upon an index increase in such a way that several adaptations may occur in the course of a year.

So, what is meant with “an index leap in 2015”? Is it a blocking of the salaries during the whole year 2015? Is it a freezing of the first salary adaptation, which would occur in accordance with the sector system? Or is it a freezing of the salaries up to a certain percentage of the index increase?

In addition, the government yet holds another big stick: although the mechanism as such of automatically linking the salaries to the index has not been affected, the government reserves itself the possibility to reform the mechanism.

An example of such reform is the “health index”. Within that framework, the price evolution of some products is excluded for the purposes of the calculation of the consumer price index. As a result, the index rises more slowly. The government keeps the door open to introduce similar indirect manipulations.

3. The unified status blue-collar workers / white-collar workers

The rules concerning the determination of the notice periods for blue-collar workers en white-collar workers have been amended since 1 January 2014 in view of unifying the status of blue-collar workers and white-collar workers.

At the insistence of the Constitutional Court, which believes that the legal status of blue-collar workers and white-collar workers should be completely unified, the Di Rupo government had already decided that a continued harmonising of the status of blue-collar workers and white-collar workers should be achieved within a strict time framework.

This objective is taken over by the Michel government and, in particular, reference is made to the guaranteed salary (the government protocol provides for an extension of the guaranteed salary in case of illness up to two months), the annual vacation, temporary unemployment and the industrial relations legislation, including the reduction of the number of joint labour-management committees and the modernisation of the consultation process at sector level within the joint labour-management committees.

Which active part the government will take in that process, is not clearly stated. The Di Rupo government passed on this hot issue to the industrial relations partners and, considering the political parties participating in the Michel government, it would be rather surprising if this government would take the lead.

It is general knowledge that the industrial relations partners work discretely, but not less thoroughly, together within the framework of the National Labour Council towards balanced solutions and an active interference by the Michel government in these discussions is highly unlikely.

4. The end of the professional career

The rise of the legal pension age is a broadly debated item.

Within that framework the rules concerning the system of unemployment combined with an employer’s supplement are modified and rendered more severe. Also with respect to this item it is explicitly mentioned that “… the efforts of the previous government (…) to mitigate the use of the system of unemployment combined with an employer’s supplement (SUS) …” are continued.

As from 1 January 2015 the required age for applying the general system, as laid down in CLA n° 17, will be raised from 60 to 62 years. As from 1 January 2017, the required age for applying the SUS for enterprises in restructuring and for enterprises in difficulties will be raised to 60 years. As from 1 January 2015 the required age for applying the SUS will be raised from 56 to 58 years and as form 1 January 2017 to 60 years in the case of 33 years of professional activities (heavy occupations) and in the case of 40 years of professional activities.

As had been decided by the Di Rupo government, the possibility of applying the SUS as from the age of 58 subject to 38 years of professional activities will be abolished as from 1 January 2015.

Nevertheless, it is important to note that workers, who meet all conditions imposed by the previous legislation at starting date of the new legislation, in order to enjoy the SUS, but who did not yet apply or don't apply for the SUS prior to this starting date, the former terms and conditions still apply even if application for the SUS is introduced after the starting date. This transitional rule results from the “click-system”, as referred to in CLA n° 107. For this purpose, workers should apply, prior to that starting date of the new rules, for the certificate, as referred to in CLA n° 107, to the National Unemployment Agency.

5. Epilogue

The Michel government started, beyond any doubt, with lots of ambition and enthusiasm and it seems to become a very tough challenge for the government.

21 November 2014

Marcel Houben - marcel.houben@peeters-law.be

Learn more about this topic: subscribe to our newsletter!

E-mail *

L’accord de gouvernement
lu avec des lunettes sociales

L’accord de gouvernement a créé beaucoup d’agitation de la part des groupes d’intérêts, notamment des syndicats et des organisations patronales. Fidèles à la tradition, ils sont encore une fois dans des positions diamétralement opposées.

Les employeurs voient bien quelques lueurs d’espoir mais trouvent – comme cela est traditionnellement le cas - que les projets ne vont pas assez loin. Les syndicats, en revanche, qualifient l’accord de totalement inacceptable. Les actions, qui ont été menées jusqu’ici et qui ont encore été annoncées, vont dans ce sens.

Il est néanmoins frappant que dans l’accord de gouvernement, il est mis l’accent à plusieurs reprises sur le fait que les mesures proposées sont la continuation et/ou le renforcement des mesures prises par le gouvernement Di Rupo. Di Rupo lui même a d’ailleurs fait remarquer sarcastiquement que 70% des mesures annoncées avaient déjà été lancées par son gouvernement.

La grande différence entre, d’une part, la véhémence des réactions des syndicats contre l’actuel gouvernement et, d’autre part, les réactions modérées des syndicats à l’occasion de l’accord de gouvernement Di Rupo est donc également frappante.

Les actions déjà menées et celles annoncées par les syndicats sont-elles dès lors (aussi) teintées politiquement ?

Ci-dessous quelques aspects sociaux de l’accord de gouvernement sont examinés à la loupe.

1. La concertation sociale

L’un des gros reproches de la part des syndicats à l’adresse du gouvernement était le fait que le gouvernement - selon les déclarations des syndicats – n’a montré aucune bonne volonté, aussi bien pendant les négociations pour la formation du gouvernement que depuis, afin de consulter les partenaires sociaux.

Dans le passé, la concertation sociale a parfois été écartée par les autorités politiques en cas d’urgence: les pouvoirs spéciaux, qui ont été obtenus du parlement par un des gouvernements Martens en sont un exemple typique.

Toutefois, ce fait ne compromet pas la constatation que la concertation sociale a incontestablement toujours joué un rôle important dans la politique belge et que ce rôle n’a pas été remis en question. Un gouvernement qui, dès le début ignorerait la concertation sociale, serait dès le départ en difficulté, on pourrait même lui suspecté un petit côté masochiste.

Contrairement aux affirmations des syndicats, ce gouvernement semble également attacher beaucoup d’intérêt à la concertation sociale : la deuxième page du texte de l’accord de gouvernement est entièrement consacrée à l’intérêt que le gouvernement accorde à la concertation sociale afin de mener des réformes avec succès, et à l’engagement du gouvernement d’impliquer les partenaires sociaux à la réalisation des objectifs. Dans les différentes parties de l’accord de gouvernement, relatives aux affaires sociales – au sens large du terme – il est fait référence à la concertation avec les partenaires sociaux.

Le reproche des syndicats paraît donc prématuré.

2. Réduire le handicap du coût salarial

Un des principaux objectifs, que le gouvernement Michel a lui-même imposé, réside dans une « croissance maximale et la création d’emplois ». Pour réaliser cet objectif, le gouvernement croit nécessaire de renforcer la compétitivité des entreprises.

Un des moyens les plus importants pour cela est la diminution du handicap du coût salarial vis-à-vis des pays frontaliers (France, Pays-Bas, Allemagne).

Trois mesures seront à cet égard commentées ci-dessous :

2.1. La révision de la loi de 1996

La loi du 26 juillet 1996 relative à la promotion de l’emploi et à la sauvegarde préventive de la compétitivité a été adoptée sous la pression du Premier Ministre de l’époque, J.-L Dehaene.

Il s’agissait de la première mesure qui a été établie pour adapter l’augmentation du coût salarial en Belgique à l’augmentation du coût salarial dans les pays frontaliers. L’augmentation maximale autorisée du coût salarial en Belgique, y compris  l’augmentation en conséquence des indexations prévues des salaires, a été déterminée annuellement sur base de cette loi, et ce, en tenant compte des coûts salariaux dans nos pays frontaliers.

Cette loi n’était cependant plus appliquée rigoureusement lors des dernières années.

Le gouvernement Michel s’engage à éliminer au moins le handicap salarial qui est né vis-à-vis des pays voisins depuis 1996 pour la fin de la législature.

De par cet objectif, le gouvernement ne veut pas seulement veiller plus strictement à l’application de la loi, mais également adapter la loi elle-même (lire « la rendre plus strict ») : la détermination d’une marge maximale de l’augmentation du coût salarial a encore été laissé par principe aux partenaires sociaux, mais s’ils n’arrivent pas à un accord, le gouvernement reprendra la tâche.
En cas d’accord entre les partenaires sociaux, il devra être intégré dans une convention collective de travail conclue au sein du Conseil National du Travail.
Par le mécanisme de rendre une telle CCT obligatoire par arrêté royal, la CCT est obligatoire pour les secteurs; la surveillance du respect est rendue plus stricte et un mécanisme de correction automatique sera installé dans cette perspective en cas de non-respect.

2.2. Une diminution des charges

Pour la fin de la législature, le gouvernement veut diminuer les contributions patronales à la sécurité sociale avec l’objectif d’atteindre le pourcentage de base de 25%.

Sachant que le tarif normal actuellement varie – selon le nombre de membres du personnel -  entre 33 et 35%, la réalisation de cet objectif serait un vrai exploit.

Ce qu’on entend précisément par la notion de « pourcentage de base », cela reste de toute façon une question ouverte et il ne paraît pas exclu que la « boite de Pandore » sera rouverte de temps en temps, surtout après la lecture de certains passages de l’accord de gouvernement (à titre d’exemple : « Le budget relatif à la réduction structurelle forfaitaire, en ce compris les majorations décidées dans le cadre du pacte de compétitivité, contribuera à cette diminution du taux de base » et « Le budget pour les hauts salaires contribuera en revanche à la réduction du taux de base et ce de manière à ce que le tarif effectif pour les bas salaires n’augmente pas en tout cas vis-à-vis de la situation, y compris les mesures du pacte de compétitivité »).

De toute façon, l’intention est qu’aucun employeur ne soit partie perdante après cette réforme, « … néanmoins en tenant compte de la loi sur la compétitivité ».

2.3. Un saut de l’index en 2015

Il ne faut pas s’étonner que cette mesure, à laquelle l’accord de gouvernement entier de presque 150 pages a consacré seulement deux petites lignes, soit l’une des plus contestées.

L’adaptation automatique des salaires à l’index des prix à la consommation est pour les syndicats un symbole des acquis sociaux en Belgique. C’est au niveau mondial un système (presque) unique, surtout parce que l’augmentation des salaires est une conséquence automatique de l’augmentation de l’index des prix à la consommation. La hausse automatique de la charge salariale est ainsi enracinée dans ce système, contrairement à la situation des pays frontaliers.

Afin de briser ce sort, le gouvernement veut appliquer un saut de l’index en 2015.

La question demeure de savoir ce que signifie « un saut de l’index ».  La manière par laquelle le système d’indexation des salaires aux prix à la consommation fonctionne en pratique est réglée séparément pour chaque secteur dans une CCT sectorielle.

Ainsi, dans certains secteurs, le salaire est adapté une fois par an (la plupart du temps le 1er janvier de l’année). Dans d’autres secteurs, une adaptation des salaires est appliquée chaque fois que l’index est augmenté d’un pourcentage déterminé (1,5%, 2%,…). Dans d’autres secteurs encore, l’adaptation des salaires suit beaucoup plus vite la modification de l’index, de sorte que plusieurs adaptations peuvent se produire au cours de l’année.

Qu’entend-on donc «  un saut de l’index en 2015 » ? Est-ce un blocage durant l’année 2015 ? Ou un blocage de la prochaine adaptation en application du système sectoriel ? Ou un blocage jusqu’à ce que l’index atteigne un certain pourcentage à la hausse?

De plus, le gouvernement détient encore un moyen de pression : bien que le mécanisme d’indexation des salaires n’ait pas encore été remis en question en tant que tel, le gouvernement laisse ouverte la possibilité de réformer le mécanisme : un exemple d’une telle réforme est « l’indice santé », pour lequel l’évolution des prix de produits déterminés a été exclu des calculs de l’index des prix à la consommation, avec comme conséquence que l’index monte plus lentement. Le gouvernement tient donc en réserve des manipulations indirectes de la sorte.

3. Le statut unique ouvriers - employés

Comme chacun le sait, la règlementation relative à la détermination des délais de préavis pour les ouvriers et les employés a été modifiée depuis le 1er janvier 2014 en vue de l’unification du statut des ouvriers et des employés.

Sur indication de la Cour Constitutionnelle, qui est d’avis que le statut légal des ouvriers et des employés doit entièrement être unifié, le gouvernement Di Rupo avait déjà décidé que l’harmonisation continuée des statuts des ouvriers et des employés devait être réalisée dans un délai strict.

Cet objectif a été repris par le gouvernement Michel et référence est fait, en particulier, en particulier, dans ce contexte, au salaire garanti (l’accord de gouvernement prévoit une extension du salaire garanti en cas de maladie jusqu’à deux mois), aux vacances annuelles, au chômage temporaire et au droit collectif du travail. La réduction du nombre de commissions paritaires a été en outre mentionnée d’une traite ainsi que la modernisation de la concertation sectorielle dans les commissions paritaires.

Le rôle actif que jouera le gouvernement n’est pas clair. Le gouvernement Di Rupo a rejeté cette affaire épineuse vers les partenaires sociaux et, considérant les partis politiques qui font partie du gouvernement Michel, il serait plutôt étonnant que ce gouvernement prenne l’initiative.

Il est de notoriété publique que les partenaires sociaux dans le cadre du Conseil National du Travail travaillent discrètement, mais néanmoins ardemment, à des solutions équilibrées et une intervention de la part du gouvernement Michel dans ces discussions est hautement improbable.

4. La fin de la carrière

L’augmentation de l’âge de la pension légale est un thème largement discuté.

Dans ce cadre, les règles concernant le régime de la prépension ont également été adaptées et durcies. Dans ce cadre également, il convient de noter que l’accord de gouvernement confirme expressément que « … les efforts du gouvernement précédent (…) pour réduire l’utilisation du système des prépension (RCC) … » ont été poursuivis.

A partir du 1er Janvier 2015, les conditions d’âge pour l’application du régime général, comme prévu dans le CCT n° 17, sont augmentées de 60 à 62 ans. A partir du 1er janvier 2017, ces conditions pour l’application du RCC pour les entreprises en restructuration ou pour les entreprises en difficulté sont portées à 60 ans. A partir du 1er janvier 2015, les conditions pour l’application du RCC dans les cas de 33 ans de carrière professionnelle (métiers durs) et dans les cas de 40 ans de carrière professionnelle, passeront de 56 à 58 ans et à partir du 1er janvier 2017, elles seront portées à 60 ans.

Comme cela avait déjà été décidé par le gouvernement Di Rupo, l’application du RCC à partir de l’âge de 58 ans en cas d’une carrière professionnelle de 38 ans est supprimée à partir du 1er janvier 2015.

Pour tous ces cas vaut le système transitoire suivant : les travailleurs, qui répondaient avant la date d’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle réglementation aux conditions pour pouvoir profiter du RCC (telles qu’applicables avant l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle réglementation), mais n’ont pas encore demandé l’application du RCC avant cette date d’entrée en vigueur, maintiennent, quand-même, la possibilité de demander, après la date d’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle réglementation, l’application du RCC en application de la réglementation (plus avantageuse) précédente, et ce grâce au système de cliquet, comme prévu par la CCT n°107.
Il suffit donc qu’ils obtiennent avant la date d’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle réglementation une attestation de la part de l’ONEM, comme déterminé par la CCT n°107.

5. Epilogue

Le gouvernement Michel a indubitablement commencé avec beaucoup d’ambition et d’enthousiasme et il est clair qu'il devra faire face à une tâche difficile.

21 novembre 2014

Marcel Houben - marcel.houben@peeters-law.be

En savoir plus sur ce sujet: inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter

E-mail *


   
  La clause d'earn-out dans la convention d'achat d'actions  
  Les PME mieux informées sur le droit belge de la concurrence  
  Prix de transfert - Obligations complémentaires de déclaration  
  Les indemnités de procédure dans les litiges en matière de propriété intellectuelle mis en question  
  Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) Principaux changements  
  Recommandation pour les professionnels économiques intervenant auprès des entreprises en difficulté  
  Le fournisseur d'un réseau WIFI, supporte-t-il la responsabilité pour des infractions aux droits de propriété intellectuelle par un tiers utilisateur ?  
  Nouvelle procédure pour le recouvrement de dettes incontestées en B2B  
  Carnet de route concernant des fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (1° partie)  
  Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (2° partie)  
  Les adresses IP dynamiques peuvent être des données à caractère personnel  
  Obligation de notification en cas d'une violation de données à caractère personnel  
  Le délégué à la protection des données  
  L'utilisation des images de caméra comme moyen de preuve  
  Comment peut-on exercer son droit à l'oubli?  
  La saisie sur des comptes bancaires à l’étranger est facilitée  
  La réintégration des malades de longue durée : Réintégration dans l’entreprise  
  Crowdfunding - Update  
  La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable »