General terms and conditions:
certain focus points

Every company works with its own terms and conditions of sale. However, discussions often arise whether these terms and conditions are opposable or not.


Acceptance of the general terms conditions supposes after all that the contracting party has taken cognizance thereof and that the terms and conditions have been accepted.

In the ideal situation, the general terms and conditions would be notified to the recipient at the latest on the moment of entering into a contract and would be signed duly. In practice however, it is not always possible to do so. The question can be asked on which particular elements attention must be paid in order to guarantee the opposability of the general terms and conditions.

1.    Entering into a contract online

When a contract is being established online, article 8 §2 on the Law of Electronic Commerce stipulates that if general terms and conditions are notified to the recipient, it must occur in such a manner that it can be saved or displayed by the latter. At least, during the purchase process, reference must be made to the general terms and conditions, whereby a hyperlink to the general terms and conditions is shown. Nonetheless, this technique is not waterproof and can lead to further discussions. Next to the proof of the notification of the general terms and conditions, proof of acceptance of these terms and conditions must be rendered as well. The mere reference by way of a hyperlink can give rise to doubt whether the recipient has in fact taken cognizance of the terms and conditions, or has accepted them.

Concerning the cognizance of the terms and conditions, it is advisable to place the complete text on the website or to obligate the contracting party to download it. In practice the acceptance of the terms and conditions is often established by clicking on a “compliance statement” button, whereby the general terms and conditions appear in a pop-up or need to be passed trough during the conclusion of the transaction. If this would not occur, chances are that the general terms and conditions will not be opposable.

Additionally, it needs to be mentioned that the general conditions must be displayed in every language in which the website can be visited.

2.    General terms and conditions on the invoice

In commercial relationships, it is quite common that the terms and conditions are placed on the back of the invoice. As a general principle, it is assumed that if the invoice has not been contested, the general conditions, which are notified by way of the invoice, are applicable. This principle is laid down in article 25 of the Commercial Code, which confirms that an accepted invoice provides proof of the existence of an agreement between parties.

This implies that the complete text of the general terms and conditions is printed on the back of the invoice. Another practice, which comes to light, is the reference on the invoice to the terms and conditions, which can be found on the website. This will generally not suffice to render the terms and conditions opposable.

In order to be able to enforce the terms and conditions, it is required that it is placed on the invoice, in a language comprehensible to the recipient.

3.    Choice of Jurisdiction

The choice of jurisdiction is however an important exception to the aforementioned principle. The jurisprudence decides on a constant basis that, if the choice of jurisdiction is only placed on the invoice, and has never been notified to the other party, the latter is not deemed to have accepted the choice of jurisdiction, even if he fails to contest the invoice.

Pursuant to article 23 of the Brussels I Regulation, a valid choice of jurisdiction requires an agreement. Hence, in order to reach an agreement concerning the competent court, it is necessary that the choice of jurisdiction has been accepted on the moment that parties have entered into the contract. This can be realized by placing the terms and conditions on the order and asking the other party to sign it duly. If the choice of jurisdiction is only printed on the back of the invoice, it will not be able to be enforced. After all, the invoice follows the conclusion of the contract, which does not prove that a valid agreement, concerning the competent court, was reached between parties.

It is only possible to deviate from this principle, if a regular and steady commercial relationship can be established between parties. In this case, the court will accept that the choice of jurisdiction is part of the agreement. However, the concept of “a steady and regular commercial relationship” is not defined, hence it is always up to the court to appreciate this on case-by-case basis.

In order to avoid future discussions in this regard, it is recommended that an agreement concerning the competent court is reached on the moment of entering into the contract.

Please note that the aforementioned is only applicable in a business-to-business relationship. When it comes to consumers, a choice of jurisdiction, which differs from common law, will generally be without effect.

17 December 2013

Lynn Pype - lynn.pype@peeters-law.be
Griet Verfaillie - griet.verfaillie@peeters-law.be


Learn more about this topic: subscribe to our newsletter!

E-mail *

Les conditions générales de vente :
quelques réflexions pertinentes

Chaque entreprise utilise ses propres conditions générales
de vente. A cet égard, elles peuvent se trouver
confrontées à la discussion de savoir si
les conditions générales sont opposables ou non.


L’acceptation des conditions générales de vente suppose que la partie contractante a pris connaissance des conditions et les ait acceptées.

Dans un monde parfait, les conditions générales de vente seraient notifiées au moment de la conclusion du contrat au plus tard et seraient signées explicitement par le cocontractant. En réalité, il n’est pas toujours possible d’arriver à ce résultat. La question qui se pose est celle de savoir à quoi il faut faire attention afin de garantir l’opposabilité des conditions générales.

1.    Conclusions du contrat en ligne

Lorsque le contrat est réalisé sur l’internet, l’article 8 §2 de la loi relative au commerce électronique prévoit que les conditions générales communiquées au destinataire doivent l’être d’une manière qui lui permette de les conserver et de les reproduire. Au moins, lors du processus de vente, une référence doit explicitement être faite aux conditions générales, en établissant un hyperlien menant aux conditions générales. Cependant, cette pratique peut encore donner lieu à de plus amples discussions. Malgré la preuve de la notification des conditions générales, l’acceptation de ces conditions doit également être prouvée. Seulement la référence via un hyperlien aux conditions générales, peut produire des doutes si le destinataire a en effet pris connaissance des conditions, soit les a acceptées.

En ce qui concerne la connaissance des conditions générales, il est recommandé de les publier intégralement sur le site web ou d’obliger la partie contractante à les télécharger. En pratique, l’acceptation des conditions générales est souvent réalisée en cliquant sur une déclaration de conformité des conditions générales, dans laquelle les conditions générales apparaissent dans un pop-up, soit en faisant défiler la page contenant les conditions générales, vers le bas pendant la conclusion de la transaction. A défaut de ce faire, le risque existe que les conditions générales ne soient pas opposables.

En outre, il ne doit pas être perdu de vue que les conditions générales doivent être rédigées dans chaque langue, dans laquelle il est possible de visiter le site web.

2.    Conditions générales au dos d’une facture

Dans des relations commerciales, on travaille souvent avec des conditions générales de vente qui sont comprises au dos d’une facture. Comme principe général, il est bel et bien établi aujourd’hui que lorsque la facture n’est pas contestée, les conditions générales, qui sont notifiées au cocontractant via la facture, sont d’application. Ce principe découle de l’article 25 du Code de commerce, ce qui dispose qu’une facture acceptée fait preuve de l’existence d’une convention entre parties.

Ceci suppose évidemment que le texte intégral des conditions générales est imprimé sur la facture. Un autre pratique qui est utilisé de temps en temps, est la référence dans la facture de conditions générales se trouvant sur le site web. En général, une telle référence ne suffit pas afin de pouvoir déterminer si les parties ont conclu un accord par rapport aux conditions générales.

Pour que les conditions générales soient opposables, il est donc nécessaire qu’elles soient imprimées sur la facture, dans une langue compréhensible pour le destinataire.

3.    Choix de juridiction

Néanmoins, le choix de juridiction est une exception importante au principe susmentionné. La jurisprudence décide de manière constante que lorsqu’un choix de juridiction contenu dans les conditions générales se trouve uniquement au dos d’une facture, et lesquelles ne sont pas notifiées préalablement au cocontractant, ce dernier n’est pas présumé d’avoir accepté le choix de juridiction, même s’il n’a pas dûment contesté la facture.

En vertu de l’article 23 du Règlement Bruxelles I, un choix de juridiction valable requiert un accord. Afin d’obtenir un accord du tribunal compétent, il est nécessaire que le choix de juridiction soit accepté au moment le contrat est conclu. Ceci peut être réalisé en faisant signer l’ordre par le cocontractant qui contient les conditions générales. Si le choix de juridiction n’est qu’imprimé au dos de la facture, il ne peut pas être appliqué. La facture est toujours envoyée après conclusion du contrat, ce qui ne fait pas preuve d’un accord valable entre parties concernant le tribunal compétent.

De ces règles, il existe des exceptions, notamment lorsque des relations commerciales stables et courantes peuvent être déterminées entre parties. Dans ce cas, le tribunal peut accepter que le choix de juridiction fasse partie de la convention. La notion « relations commerciales courantes » n’est cependant pas définie. Il appartient donc au tribunal de le déterminer in concreto.

Il est donc recommandé d’obtenir un accord sur le choix de juridiction au moment où le contrat est conclu afin d'éviter des discussions relatives au tribunal compétent.

Il est a noté que le susmentionné n’est d’application qu’aux relations business to business. En ce qui concerne les consommateurs, un choix de juridiction décoratoire au droit commun, n’aura en principe aucun effet.

17 décembre 2013

Lynn Pype - lynn.pype@peeters-law.be
Griet Verfaillie - griet.verfaillie@peeters-law.be


En savoir plus sur ce sujet: inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter

E-mail *


   
  La clause d'earn-out dans la convention d'achat d'actions  
  Les PME mieux informées sur le droit belge de la concurrence  
  Prix de transfert - Obligations complémentaires de déclaration  
  Les indemnités de procédure dans les litiges en matière de propriété intellectuelle mis en question  
  Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) Principaux changements  
  Recommandation pour les professionnels économiques intervenant auprès des entreprises en difficulté  
  Le fournisseur d'un réseau WIFI, supporte-t-il la responsabilité pour des infractions aux droits de propriété intellectuelle par un tiers utilisateur ?  
  Nouvelle procédure pour le recouvrement de dettes incontestées en B2B  
  Carnet de route concernant des fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (1° partie)  
  Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (2° partie)  
  Les adresses IP dynamiques peuvent être des données à caractère personnel  
  Obligation de notification en cas d'une violation de données à caractère personnel  
  Le délégué à la protection des données  
  L'utilisation des images de caméra comme moyen de preuve  
  Comment peut-on exercer son droit à l'oubli?  
  La saisie sur des comptes bancaires à l’étranger est facilitée  
  La réintégration des malades de longue durée : Réintégration dans l’entreprise  
  Crowdfunding - Update  
  La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable »