Blue-collar workers, white-collar workers...
quo-vadis?

In its decision of 7 July 2011, the Constitutional Court confirmed in general terms its position that the distinction between blue-collar workers and white-collar workers on the basis of the criteria of manual and intellectual work is not (any more) objectively or reasonably justified.


It gave time to the legislator until 7 July 2013 to cure the situation. Meanwhile it is … ALL HANDS ON DECK !

Already in 1993, the Constitutional Court alerted the Belgian government to the fact that the differences of the employment law status of the blue-collar workers (performing mainly manual work) and the white-collar workers (performing mainly intellectual work) can not (any longer) objectively and reasonably be justified. Nevertheless, the Court took the position that it would not be appropriate to force the legislator to abolish the distinction on a short term, because such a move would cause a too large earthquake on the employment landscape. So, the Court made a choice for a solution by graduality.

The differences, which were particularly at stake in the decision of 7 July 2011, relate to the notice periods applicable to blue-collar workers en white-collar workers, on the one hand, and the “waiting day”, applicable only to blue-collar workers, on the other hand.

The differences with respect to the notice periods applicable to blue-collar workers and white-collar workers are sufficiently known: while the legal stipulations determine the notice periods, applicable to white-collar workers, in terms of months, the notice periods, applicable to blue-collar workers are determined in terms of days. The “waiting day” is the first day of the incapacity to work due to illness, other than professional decease, or due to an accident other than a work accident or an accident on the road to or from work. The blue-collar workers get the salary for this first day of incapacity to work paid only if the period of such incapacity lasts for at least fourteen days. The guaranteed salary for this first day of incapacity is paid to the white-collar workers irrespective of the duration of the incapacity to work.

In its decision of 7 July 2011, the Constitutional Court recognizes that the legislator has made efforts since the first warning of 1993 to harmonize the legal status of both categories of workers (a.o. the law of 12 April 2011, particularly in as much as it modifies fundamentally the notice periods applicable for white-collar workers, provided the performance of the employment contract started as from 1 January 2012). Nevertheless, the Court states categorically that it can not be admitted to still maintain the distinction between white-collar workers and blue-collar workers for more than 18 years (the decision dates from 2011), considering the fact that the distinction had already been declared to be unconstitutional back in 1993. This is especially the case, so states the Court, with respect to the difference which are at stake in the 2011 decision, that is the notice periods and the “waiting day”.

So, the Constitutional Court took the position in 2011 that it had lasted long enough and gave the legislator another delay of two years, that is up to 7 July 2013, to undo the distinction.

Although the Constitutional Court condemns the distinction between blue-collar workers and white-collar workers in general, the ultimatum of 7 July 2013 applies, strictly legally, only to both differences at stake in the decision, that is the notice periods and the “waiting day”.

But, no worries, that proofs to be sufficiently difficult. Quite understandable, the issue of the notice periods is the pre-eminently controversial one. The trade unions aim at extending the notice periods for blue-collar workers to the level of the white-collar workers. The employers’ federations argue that such a measure would raise the employment cost to unseen heights, with all baleful results.

The government was very pleased that it could, in line with the tradition of social consultation, refer the matter to the industrial relations partners in order to try in the first place work out a solution. Since these – as could be expected – were unable to find a way out, the matter got back on the government’s plate; after long discussions, the government did not get any further than submitting 12 (according to the notes in the media) fundamental questions to the industrial relations partners. So, the hot potato was constantly referred from one party to the other, while the clock meanwhile keeps ticking: 7 July 2013 is not an eternity away anymore.

The chaos, which might arise, if no solution can be agreed upon by that date, will be hard labour for the lawyers.

But even if a solution can be found for the items of the notice periods and the “waiting day”, the way to a really unified legal status for blue-collar workers and white-collar workers is still very long and steep, because a lot more than just amending a number of legal stipulations is at stake.

Indeed, a really unified legal status has important financial consequences, not only for the employers, but also for the social security system. By way of example: the introduction of a guaranteed monthly salary in case of illness for the blue-collar workers, just the way it exists now for the white-collar workers, would potentially cause an important increase of the cost for the employers for work incapacity, while it would be beneficial for the sickness insurance because the starting date for the payment of the replacement income allowance to the blue-collar workers would be delayed; shortening the notice periods for the white-collar workers would result in savings for the employers, but would potentially raise the cost of the unemployment allowances; an extension of the notice periods for the blue-collar workers would have the opposite result.

Also the industrial relations infrastructure would logically undergo far-reaching – if not revolutionary – changes.

Up to now, particularly in the traditional large industrial sectors, separate joint labour-management committees have been established for white-collar workers and for blue-collar workers. Such separate joint labour-management committees would not have a reason of existence anymore in the case of a really unified legal status. Logically, these committees would merge and the existing collective labour agreements, entered into within the committees, would have to be harmonized. Considering the far-reaching differences in terms of applicable working conditions, a (impossible ?) titanic job !

Imagine that the arrangements for the financing and the payment of the vacation pay would be unified for white-collar workers and blue-collar workers, that is, logically, extending the system, as existing at present for the white-collar workers, to the blue-collar workers. In that case, the vacation funds, which are at present established by the employers’ federations and which are in charge of paying the vacation pay to the blue-collar workers, would not have any reason of existence anymore.

Within the Christian union ACV-CSC and the socialist union ABVV-FGTB, an affiliated trade union is now in charge of the white-collar workers, respectively LBC-NVK/CNE-CNC and BBTK-SETCa. Separate trade unions, within each of both trade unions, are in charge of the blue-collar workers in the industrial sectors. A really unified legal status for blue-collar workers and white-collar workers would logically result in turning this internal structure within the trade unions (and the power relations) upside down, because both categories of workers would have, logically, concurring interests.

What is to happen to the group insurances, an employment term which, traditionally has been reserved to the white-collar worker ?

Clearly, a really unified legal status for blue-collar workers and white-collar workers is not just a matter of compliance with articles 10 and 11 of the Constitution. Quite to the contrary, a lot more interests, concerns and issues are at stake.

12 June 2013

Marcel HOUBEN - marcel.houben@peeters-law.be

Learn more about this topic: subscribe to our newsletter!

E-mail *

Ouviers, employés...
quo-vadis?

 Dans son arrêt du 7 juillet 2011, la Cour Constitutionnelle a confirmé en termes généraux sa position selon laquelle la distinction entre ouvriers et employés sur la base du critère
de travail manuel et intellectuel n’est pas/plus justifiée
de manière objective et raisonnable.


Elle a imparti au législateur un délai jusqu’au 7 juillet 2013 pour y remédier.  Entretemps.... c’est TOUT LE MONDE SUR LE PONT !

La Cour Constitutionnelle a averti le législateur dès 1993 que les différences au niveau du statut des ouvriers, tel qu’il est défini dans le droit du travail (ceux qui effectuent un travail principalement manuel) et de celui des employés (ceux qui effectuent un travail principalement intellectuel) ne peuvent pas/plus être justifiées de manière objective et raisonnable.  A cette époque, la Cour estimait toutefois encore qu’il ne convenait pas d’obliger le législateur à supprimer la distinction à bref délai parce que cette suppression entraînerait un bouleversement trop important dans le paysage du droit du travail.  La Cour a donc préféré à l’époque la solution progressive.

Les différences, qui ont été évoquées en particulier dans l’arrêt du 7 juillet 2011, se situent d’abord au niveau des délais de préavis qui sont valables pour les ouvriers et les employés et ensuite au niveau du jour de carence qui est uniquement applicable pour les ouvriers.

Les différences au niveau des délais de préavis applicables entre ouvriers et employés sont suffisamment connues : alors que pour les employés, les dispositions légales stipulent des délais de préavis qui sont exprimés en mois, ceux des ouvriers sont exprimés en jours.  Le jour de carence est le premier jour de l’incapacité de travail pour cause de maladie autre qu’ une maladie professionnelle ou pour cause d’accident autre qu’un accident du travail ou un accident sur la route du travail.  Le salaire garanti pour ce premier jour d’incapacité de travail n’est payé aux ouvriers que lorsque l’incapacité de travail dure quinze jours.  Pour les employés par contre, le salaire garanti pour le premier jour d’incapacité de travail est payé sans égard à la durée de l’incapacité de travail.

Dans l’arrêt du 7 juillet 2011, la Cour Constitutionnelle reconnaît que le législateur a fait des efforts, depuis la première réprimande, pour harmoniser les statuts (e.a. par la loi du 12 avril 2011 par laquelle ce sont surtout les délais de préavis pour les employés qui ont été profondément modifiés pour les contrats de travail dont l’exécution commence avant le 1ier janvier 2012).  Néanmoins, la Cour considère catégoriquement qu’il est injuste que la distinction entre ouvriers et employés, qui a été qualifiée, en 1993, comme étant non constitutionnelle en son principe, existe toujours 18 ans plus tard (l’arrêt date de 2011).  Cela vaut en particulier, dit la Cour, pour les différences évoquées dans l’arrêt, à savoir les délais de préavis et le jour de carence.

La Cour Constitutionnelle était donc d’avis, en 2011, qu’elle avait patienté assez longtemps et elle a encore accordé au législateur un délai jusqu’au 7 juillet 2013 pour éliminer la distinction.

Même si la Cour Constitutionnelle condamne la distinction entre ouvriers et employés en général, l’ultimatum du 7 juillet 2013 ne vaut, du point de vue strictement juridique, que pour les deux différences évoquées dans l’arrêt, à savoir les délais de préavis et le jour de carence.

Mais c’est déjà assez difficile ! Evidemment, les délais de préavis constituent à cet égard le sujet brûlant par excellence.  Les syndicats cherchent à augmenter les délais de préavis pour les ouvriers jusqu’au niveau de ceux des employés. Les organisations patronales y répliquent que pareille intervention gonflerait les frais d’occupation à des niveaux jamais vus et aurait des conséquences néfastes.

Dans la ligne de la tradition de la concertation sociale, le gouvernement était par trop content de laisser l’élaboration d’une solution en premier lieu aux partenaires sociaux.  Ceux-ci n’ayant pas réussi – comme attendu – à s’en sortir, le problème s’est retrouvé sur la table du gouvernement, qui, après de longues concertations, n’a pu faire mieux que de soumettre 12 questions fondamentales (selon les annonces dans les médias) aux partenaires sociaux.  La patate chaude est donc constamment passée d’une partie à l’autre et entretemps, l’horloge continue à tourner : la date du 7 juillet 2013 approche à grands pas.

Le chaos qui menace de naître si aucune solution n’est trouvée avant cette date deviendra une lourde tâche pour les juristes.

Mais même si une solution est trouvée concernant les délais de préavis et le jour de carence, toujours est-il que le chemin vers un statut unique pour les ouvriers et les employés est très long et abrupt, car il implique, évidemment, bien plus d’interventions que la seule adaptation d’un certain nombre de dispositions légales.

Un statut unique réel aurait donc des implications financières importantes, non seulement pour les employeurs, mais aussi sur le plan de la sécurité sociale.  A titre d’exemple : si un salaire garanti était instauré pour les ouvriers, tel qu’il existe à présent pour les employés, cela causerait une augmentation importante des frais à exposer par les employeurs en cas d’incapacité de travail ; l’assurance maladie par contre y trouverait un profit parce que la date du commencement du paiement d’un revenu de remplacement est différée ; un raccourcissement des délais de préavis pour les employés impliquerait, quant à lui, une économie pour les employeurs, mais une augmentation potentielle des allocations de chômage à décaisser ; une prolongation des délais de préavis pour les ouvriers aurait, quant à elle, l’effet inverse.

L’infrastructure du droit du travail subirait, en toute logique, des modifications profondes sinon révolutionnaires.

Jusqu’ici, des commissions paritaires séparées ont été créées pour les ouvriers et les employés, surtout pour les grands secteurs traditionnels.  Dans le cas d’un statut unique réel, ces commissions séparées n’auraient évidemment plus aucune raison d’exister.  En toute logique, une fusion entre les deux serait opérée et les conventions collectives de travail existantes, conclues dans les commissions séparées, seraient harmonisées.  Vu les grandes différences au niveau des conditions de travail convenues, ce serait un travail de titan (impossible ?) !

Si les règlements concernant le financement et le paiement des pécules de vacances pour ouvriers et employés étaient unifiés - ce qui reviendrait, en toute logique, à l’extension vers les ouvriers du système existant pour les employés -, les caisses de vacances qui sont maintenues par les fédérations patronales et qui sont actuellement chargées du paiement des pécules de vacances aux ouvriers, n’auraient plus de raison d’exister.

Au sein de la CSC et de la FGTB, il existe actuellement un syndicat spécifique pour les employés, soit respectivement la CNE-GNC et la SETCA.  Des alliances séparées défendent les intérêts des ouvriers dans les différents secteurs.  Un statut unique réel d’ouvriers et d’employés bouleverserait évidemment cette structure interne au sein des syndicats (et les rapports de force) car les deux groupes de travailleurs auraient, évidemment, les mêmes intérêts.

Qu’adviendra-t-il de l’assurance groupe, condition de travail qui était réservée traditionnellement aux employés ?

Il est clair que l’unification réelle du statut des ouvriers et des employés toucherait bien plus d’intérêts que le seul intérêt constitutionnel de concordance avec les articles 10 et 11 de la Constitution.

12 juin 2013

Marcel HOUBEN - marcel.houben@peeters-law.be

En savoir plus sur ce sujet: inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter

E-mail *


   
  La clause d'earn-out dans la convention d'achat d'actions  
  Les PME mieux informées sur le droit belge de la concurrence  
  Prix de transfert - Obligations complémentaires de déclaration  
  Les indemnités de procédure dans les litiges en matière de propriété intellectuelle mis en question  
  Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) Principaux changements  
  Recommandation pour les professionnels économiques intervenant auprès des entreprises en difficulté  
  Le fournisseur d'un réseau WIFI, supporte-t-il la responsabilité pour des infractions aux droits de propriété intellectuelle par un tiers utilisateur ?  
  Nouvelle procédure pour le recouvrement de dettes incontestées en B2B  
  Carnet de route concernant des fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (1° partie)  
  Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (2° partie)  
  Les adresses IP dynamiques peuvent être des données à caractère personnel  
  Obligation de notification en cas d'une violation de données à caractère personnel  
  Le délégué à la protection des données  
  L'utilisation des images de caméra comme moyen de preuve  
  Comment peut-on exercer son droit à l'oubli?  
  La saisie sur des comptes bancaires à l’étranger est facilitée  
  La réintégration des malades de longue durée : Réintégration dans l’entreprise  
  Crowdfunding - Update  
  La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable »