Belgian covered bonds and the mobilisation of receivables for financing purposes

The Belgian playing field levelled

On 3 September 2012, both the law of 3 August 2012 on establishing a legal regime for Belgian covered bonds (hereafter referred to as “Law on Covered Bonds”), as well as the law of 3 August 2012 on various measures to facilitate the mobilization of receivables in the financial sector (hereinafter referred to as the “Law on Mobilization”) entered into force.

The purpose of both laws is to provide financial and credit institutions with more possibilities to use their assets for their own financing. The portfolios of receivables such as business credits, consumer credits and mortgage loans are often their largest and most important assets. The financial crises have highlighted the need to be able to mobilize their assets to the fullest extent in order to finance themselves in a stable manner. The legal regime, which was into force until very recently, did not allow making use of this financial technique, although this technique has already been widely used abroad. By virtue of the aforementioned laws, the playing field has been levelled.

1.    Covered bonds

Article 3 of the Law on Covered Bonds defines the Belgian covered bonds as a debt security, which fulfils the following conditions: (i) the debt security which is or shall be issued by a Belgian credit institution registered on a list of credit institutions authorized by the National Bank of Belgium (hereinafter referred to as the “NBB”) to issue Belgian covered bonds, (ii) the debt security for which the issue or the issue programme has been authorized by the NBB and been registered on a dedicated public list and (iii) for which a special and separate estate has been set up.

From the abovementioned definition, the following aspects can be highlighted.

The Belgian covered bonds are directly issued by credit institution and will in principle be maintained on the balance sheet until their maturity date. Only Belgian credit institutions, hereto specially authorized by the NBB can issue Belgian covered bonds. The registration of these credit institution on a specific list published by the NBB on its website, shall form proof of this consent.

The main feature of the Belgian covered bonds is the special mechanism, which is introduced to protect the holders of these covered bonds. Covered bonds are similar to conventional bonds, but their uniqueness lies in the fact that they are covered by assets, such as mortgage loans, which are isolated from the general estate of the credit institution, and which forms one or more special estates specifically created for the benefit of the holders of covered bonds. The assets ring-fenced in a special estate (which does not have any other legal personality), are thus exclusively allocated to the benefit of the covered bondholders and certain other creditors involved with the issue of these covered bonds.

The assets (so-called “allocated assets” (“dekkingswaarden” –  “actifs de couverture”)) are on the balance sheet of the issuing credit institution and must belong to one of the following categories: (i) mortgage loans; (ii) receivables on or guaranteed by public entities; (iii) securities issued by securitisation vehicles that securitise exposure on assets composed in the majority of the receivables referred to in (i) and/or (ii); (iv) receivables on credit institutions; or (v) positions resulting from one or more hedging instruments related to one or more allocated assets or Belgian covered bonds. Furthermore the Law on Covered Bonds provides in quantitative and qualitative requirements with regard to the composition of the allocated assets and with regard to the requirements for identification of those assets.

Due to the foregoing, the protection of the holders of the Belgian covered bonds is significantly increased. In the event of insolvency of the issuing credit institution, the holders of said bonds will have (i) recourse against the general estate of the credit institution, (ii) as well as exclusive recourse against its special estate.

Finally, it should be noted that the Law on Covered Bonds also provides for a specific category of Belgian covered bonds, namely “Belgische pandbrieven” or “Lettres de gage belges”. These are covered bonds, of which the allocated assets meet specific requirements to enable them to receive a favourable equity weighing (pursuant to Article V.16, §2 of the Regulation of the Banking, Finance and Insurance Commission of 17 October 2006.

2.    Mobilisation of receivables for financing purposes

In addition to the Law on Covered Bonds, the Law on Mobilization resolves various issues that made the use for financing purposes (assignment or pledge) of loans held by Belgian credit institutions difficult or unattractive.

Hereinafter the main aspects are briefly discussed.

The Law on Mobilization aims to facilitate the assignment of loans. In this respect it should be noted that the assignment by or to a credit institution, financial establishment or securitisation vehicle of loans on public authorities is no longer subject to stringent rules, as set forth in the Law of 23 September 1993 on Public Procurement. However, the assignment must still be notified no later than the time the request for payment is made to the public authority.

In principle, in the event of an assignment of a loan by or to a credit institution, financial establishment or securitisation vehicle, the debtor may no longer rely on the rules on the statutory or contractual sett-off of claims or the exception non adimpleti contractus (i) as from the time the debtor is notified of the assignment, if the conditions for set-off or the exception non adimpleti contractus are met after the notification date (subject to certain conditions) or (ii) in the absence of an assignment, if the conditions for set-off or the exception non adimpleti contractus are met after the date of the insolvency proceedings affecting the assignor (subject to certain conditions).

The assignment of mortgage loans by or to a credit institution, financial establishment or securitisation vehicle is no longer subject to the stringent rule that requires the execution of a notarial deed and the recording against the assignment in the mortgage register, giving rise to a 1% registration duty.

Finally, it should be noted that the agreements regarding ranking and subordination to establish the ranking of payments of bank receivables, including any arrangement for ranking or subordination in favour of the special estate that has issued Belgian covered bonds are by virtue of law enforceable against third parties.

28 September 2012

Leo Peeters - leo.peeters@peeters-law.be
Pieter Dierckx - pieter.dierckx@peeters-law.be

Learn more about this topic: subscribe to our newsletter!

E-mail *

Les covered bonds belges et la mobilisation des créances dans le secteur financier

Le retard de la Belgique comblé

Le 3 septembre 2012, la loi du 3 août 2012 instaurant un régime légal pour les covered bonds belges (ci-après « Loi aux Covered Bonds belges ») et la loi du 3 août 2012 relative à des mesures diverses pour faciliter la mobilisation des créances dans le secteur financier (ci-après « Loi à la Mobilisation ») sont entrées en vigueur.

Ces deux lois visent à donner plus de possibilités aux institutions financières et aux établissements de crédit dans la mobilisation de leurs actifs pour être en mesure de se financer. Les portefeuilles de créances privées, comme les crédits aux entreprises, les crédits à la consommation ou les crédits hypothécaires constituent souvent la composante principale et majeure de leurs actifs. La crise financière a mis en évidence la nécessité de pouvoir mobiliser au maximum leurs actifs pour se financer de façon stable. L’arsenal législatif qui était d'application jusqu’à l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle loi, ne permettait pas cette technique financière déjà largement répandue à l’étranger. A cause des lois susmentionnées, le retard de la Belgique vis-à-vis l’étranger est comblé.

1.    Covered bonds belges

Article 3 de la Loi aux Covered Bonds belges définit le covered bond belge comme un titre de créance qui répond aux critères suivants : le titre de créance est émis par un établissement de crédit belge inscrit sur la liste des établissements autorisées à émettre des covered bonds belges par la Banque Nationale Belge (ci-après la « NBB »), (ii) dont l’émission ou, le cas échéant, le programme d’émission a été autorisé par la NBB et inscrit sur la liste prévue à cet effet et (iii) pour lesquels un patrimoine spécial a été constitué.

De la définition ci-dessus, les aspects suivants méritent quelques explications.

Les covered bonds belges sont émis directement par un établissement de crédit et resteront - en principe - inscrits sur son bilan jusqu’à leur échéance. Seuls les établissements de crédit de droit belge qui ont obtenu une autorisation préalable à cet égard de la NBB peuvent émettre des covered bonds belges. L’enregistrement de l’établissement de crédit sur une liste spécifique publiée par la NBB sur son site Web, est la preuve de cette autorisation.

La particularité majeure des covered bonds belges est la introduction d’un mécanisme spécial afin de protéger les détenteurs de ces covered bonds. Les covered bonds sont similaires aux obligations classiques, mais leur particularité réside dans le fait qu’ils sont couverts par des actifs, y compris les prêts hypothécaires, qui sont isolés, dans le patrimoine général de l’établissement de crédit, pour former un ou plusieurs patrimoines spéciaux, qui sont spécifiquement crées dans l'intérêt des détenteurs des covered bonds. Les actifs ainsi isolés sous la forme d’un patrimoine spéciale (dénué toutefois de toute personnalité juridique distincte de l’établissement de crédit émetteur) se voient ainsi exclusivement alloués au désintéressement des détenteurs de covered bonds et certains autres créanciers liés à l’émission de ces titres.

Les actifs (les « actifs de couverture ») figurant au bilan de l’établissement émetteur, doivent appartenir d’une des catégories suivantes : (i) des créances hypothécaires ; (ii) des créances sur ou garanties par des entités publiques ; (iii) des parts émises par des organismes de titrisation qui réalisent la titrisation d’expositions sur des actifs majoritairement composés de créances visées au (i) et/ou (ii) ; (iv) des créances sur des établissements de crédit ou (v) des positions résultant d’un ou plusieurs instruments de couvertures liés à un ou plusieurs actifs de couverture ou aux covered bonds belges.
En outre, la Loi aux Covered Bonds belges prévoit des conditions quantitatives et qualitatives relatives à la composition des actifs de couverture et des conditions relatives à l’indentification de ces actifs.

Le grand avantage de tout cela est que la protection des détenteurs des covered bonds est considérablement augmentée. En cas d’insolvabilité de l’établissement de crédit, les détenteurs des covered bonds disposent d’un recours double, notamment : (i) d’une part contre le patrimoine général de l’établissement de crédit et (ii) d’autre part contre le patrimoine spécial qui leur est réservé.

Pour être complet, il convient de noter que la Loi aux Covered Bonds belges prévoit aussi dans une catégorie spécifique des covered bonds belges, notamment les lettres de gage belges. Il s’agit de covered bonds dont les actifs de couverture satisfont à des contraintes particulières afin de leur permettre de recevoir une pondération en fonds propres favorable (en application de l’article V.16, §2 du règlement de la Commission bancaire, financière et des assurances du 17 octobre 2006 concernant le règlement relatif aux fonds propres des établissements de crédit et des entreprises d’investissement).

2.    Mobilisation des créances dans le secteur financier

En plus de la Loi aux Covered Bonds belges, la Loi à la mobilisation met en terme des divers problèmes, qui ont rendu l’utilisation à des fins de financement (une cession ou une mise en gage) des créances détenues par les établissements de crédit belges difficile ou peu attrayante.

Ci-dessous nous examinons brièvement les aspects principaux.

Lo Loi à la Mobilisation assouplit les règles en matière de cession et de mise en gage de créances sur des pouvoirs adjudicateurs, tant pour ceux-ci que pour le secteur financier. A cet égard il doit être souligné que la cession par ou à un établissement de crédit, un établissement financier ou un organisme de mobilisation n’est plus soumis à des conditions restrictives comme prévues par la loi de 1993 sur les marchés publics. Cependant la cession doit encore être toujours signifiée ou notifiée par lettre recommandée au plus tard lors de la demande de paiement du cessionnaire.

En cas d’une cession d’un prêt par ou à un établissement de crédit, un établissement financier ou un organisme de mobilisation, en principe le débiteur ne peut plus se valoir contre le cessionnaire sur la compensation légale ou conventionnelle de la créance cédée ou sur l’exception d’inexécution (i) dès le moment auque le débiteur est notifié de la cession, si les conditions de la compensation ou de l’exception n’ont été remplies qu’après de la notification (sauf certaines exceptions) ou (ii) en cas d’absence d’une cession, si les conditions de la compensation ou de l’exception d’inexécution n’ont été remplies qu’à l’occasion ou à la suite de la procédure d’insolvabilité  ou d’une situation de concours relative au cédant (sauf certaines conditions).

En outre, la cession par ou à un établissement de crédit, un établissement financier ou un organisme de mobilisation n’est plus soumise à la règle restrictive qui exige l’exécution d’un acte notarié et l’inscription de la cession dans le registre des hypothèques, ce qui donne lieu à un droit d’enregistrement de 1%.

Finalement il convient de noter que les règlements de rang et les subordinations établis afin de fixer l'ordre des paiements de ces créances bancaires, y compris les règlements et les subordinations en faveur d'un patrimoine spécial d'un établissement de crédit ayant émis des covered bonds belges, peuvent être opposés de plein droit à tous tiers autres que les débiteurs des créances bancaires subordonnées ou que ceux des sûretés personnelles.

28 septembre 2012

Leo Peeters - leo.peeters@peeters-law.be
Pieter Dierckx - pieter.dierckx@peeters-law.be

En savoir plus sur ce sujet: inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter

E-mail *


   
  La clause d'earn-out dans la convention d'achat d'actions  
  Les PME mieux informées sur le droit belge de la concurrence  
  Prix de transfert - Obligations complémentaires de déclaration  
  Les indemnités de procédure dans les litiges en matière de propriété intellectuelle mis en question  
  Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) Principaux changements  
  Recommandation pour les professionnels économiques intervenant auprès des entreprises en difficulté  
  Le fournisseur d'un réseau WIFI, supporte-t-il la responsabilité pour des infractions aux droits de propriété intellectuelle par un tiers utilisateur ?  
  Nouvelle procédure pour le recouvrement de dettes incontestées en B2B  
  Carnet de route concernant des fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (1° partie)  
  Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (2° partie)  
  Les adresses IP dynamiques peuvent être des données à caractère personnel  
  Obligation de notification en cas d'une violation de données à caractère personnel  
  Le délégué à la protection des données  
  L'utilisation des images de caméra comme moyen de preuve  
  Comment peut-on exercer son droit à l'oubli?  
  La saisie sur des comptes bancaires à l’étranger est facilitée  
  La réintégration des malades de longue durée : Réintégration dans l’entreprise  
  Crowdfunding - Update  
  La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable »