Road book on private mergers and
acquisitions in Belgium
(part 2)

The (legal) Due Diligence and
Sale and Purchase Agreement

Once the initial “pre-contract” agreements as referred to in
the first part of our M&A road book have been executed,
a next phase of the route of the private M&A transaction
starts, namely the due diligence and
the sale and purchase agreement.

I. Due diligence

In an M&A transaction, a (legal) due diligence of the target company will be made by the potential purchasers and their advisors.

Besides the legal due diligence review, and depending on the circumstances in the specific case, accounting, financial, operational and business due diligences of the target company are also carried out by the potential purchaser and its advisors. If the target business is involved in an environmental sensitive business it is not uncommon for a potential purchaser to involve specialist environmental consultants to undertake the environmental due diligence.

The legal due diligence review is conducted based on a data room put together by the seller with assistance of the seller’s lawyers. This data room may be completed with documents requested from time to time by the purchaser's lawyers. During the course of such due diligence, the purchasers and its advisors submit enquiries to the target company.

The data room may be still made up of physical documents but in practice data rooms are nowadays virtual. Of course, in controlled auction processes, with more than one potential purchasers whether or not situated in different countries, virtual data rooms are much more expedient for managing the due diligence.


Certain information on a Belgian target company is publicly available, such as corporate documents in court records (the corporate file is held by the court registry of the competent Commercial Court), financial information contained in annual accounts filed with the NBB, mortgages and (legal) inscriptions mentioned in the certificates delivered by the competent mortgage keeper, etc.

This public information can be sought after from various public sources and from a large number of Belgian authorities.

Note that information may be useful in a “pre-due diligence” phase. However, information on shareholdings in a Belgian target company is not publicly available, which is the case in some of our neighbouring countries.

After the (legal) due diligence review, the potential purchaser’s lawyers will furnish their client with a report presenting the findings of their due diligence.

A legal due diligence report may cover e.g. the following with regard to the target company:


Risks identified during the due diligence process may be handled by way of provisions in the sale and purchase agreement (e.g. specific indemnities or reduction of the purchase price). In some cases critical findings during the due diligence process may even constitute “deal breakers” and cause the potential purchaser to withdraw from the negotiations.

II. Sale and purchase agreement

Once the seller and the purchaser complete their negotiations, they enter into a share sale and purchase agreement contemplating the sale and purchase of the shares in the target company.

Below certain specific provisions of the typical Belgian share sale and purchase agreement are described (the majority of the provisions are included also in case of a sale and purchase of assets and liabilities).

1. Purchase price mechanism and transfer of shares

Central issues to be governed in the sale and purchase agreement are the purchase price and the transfer of shares in the transaction.

The parties involved may simply opt for payment of the final purchase price in full, at completion, in the form of a cash consideration or e.g. a share swap.

However, a commonly used mechanism for establishing the final purchase price is the use of a “completion accounts” provision. Under such a provision, the preliminary purchase price paid at signing – based for example on a corrected EBITDA, or on the estimated net debt position of the target company and the estimated working capital at the completion date – is then reconciled against the actual corrected EBITDA, and/or net debt position of the target company and its actual working capital at completion. Other measuring criteria are also often used for establishing the purchase price.

An increasingly frequent alternative is a “locked-box” model, fixing the purchase price as per a certain date (based on a balance sheet established on an agreed date) and calculating interest from that date up to completion, but the purchase price being subject to adjustment for unauthorised “leakage”, typically including such matters as dividends, management bonuses, redemption or purchase of shares or payments of liabilities benefiting a seller, eventually corrected with agreed exceptions (e.g., for an agreed amount of dividend to selling shareholder(s) or bonus paid to managers).

Contingent payment depending on the target company’s results, such as “earn-out” structures are sometimes seen in transactions for example where the seller or management of the target company will stay, whether or not retaining part of the shareholdingship.

Numerous other options exist for regulating the purchase price (adjustments) and the payment which may be used in the sale and purchase agreement depending on the circumstances of the specific transaction.

2. Representations and warranties

Representations and warranties typically cover a variety of subjects, including core company law matters (such as due constitution and ownership of shares), operational matters (employment, intellectual property, relations with customers and suppliers, regulatory compliance and others), financial matters, the quality of the assets being sold, if applicable, and tax, in each case addressing general principles and any deal-specific questions identified during due diligence.
However, specific risks identified by the purchaser during the due diligence process are not reflected in the representations and warranties. Instead such risks are handled by way of specific indemnities.

Belgian sale and purchase agreements sometimes exclude the remedies provided for by the law, and the remedies under the sale and purchase agreement shall then be the exclusive remedies available to the purchaser. In principle, the seller’s liability for specific indemnities is not limited to the seller’s warranties, nor by the purchaser’s knowledge of the fact that there is an issue in the target company.

3. The liability of the seller

On the Belgian market warranty periods are normally 12 to 24 months.

However, in respect of certain specific areas such as tax and environment considerably longer warranty periods apply.

Claims under tax warranties are in average allowed to be initiated up to a certain amount (e.g. 90) of days after the date upon which the right of the tax authorities or any other competent authority to assess or claim any taxes or social security contributions in respect of the matters giving rise to such a claim is barred by all applicable statutes of limitation.

Environmental warranty periods are usually 5 to 10 years from completion.

With respect to warranty thresholds – “caps” and “baskets” – the purchaser has to be able to claim compensation from the seller for a deficiency under the warranties and the deficiency must satisfy a threshold of a specified amount. Deficiencies that cannot be claimed individually may be aggregated and, if the aggregate deficiency reaches the threshold, the purchaser can claim such aggregate deficiency. A more seller-friendly alternative is of course that claims below the threshold are deducted from the claim. There is also often a limitation that each minor deficiency that shall be taken into account shall itself reach a certain threshold (as so called “de minimis”). A deficiency above thresholds is compensated on a euro for euro basis and is limited by a certain maximum amount, capped at an amount, in most of the cases, equal to the purchase price or a lower specified amount.

Sale and purchase agreements often include provisions specifying that the purchaser may not initiate claims under the warranties based on circumstances which were (or reasonably should have been) known to the purchaser before the agreement was signed, including information disclosed to the purchaser by the seller.

4. The liability of the purchaser

The representations and warranties made by the purchaser are normally very limited, if any. The scope of these representations and warranties is usually limited to corporate existence, authority and necessary approvals for entering into the sale and purchase agreement.

5. Conditions precedent

Conditions precedent refers to one or more conditions for completion of a transaction in situations where “signing” and “completion” occur on separate occasions
Common conditions precedent are that the transaction is approved by e.g. relevant competition or financial supervisory authorities and that no material adverse change affecting the target occurs between signing and closing (so called “MAC”-clauses).

6. Non-compete clauses

Non-compete clauses are usually included in the sale and purchase agreement as a specific section or as part of the seller’s covenants.

The seller undertakes that neither the seller or any of its affiliates shall directly or indirectly conduct business or have any interest in any business carrying out activities in a specified geographic area that is directly competing with the target company’s business.

The period of time for such non-compete undertakings is 2 to 3 years in average, but highly sector specific.

The non-compete clause is customarily combined with non-solicitation clauses that prohibit the purchaser and any of its affiliates from soliciting or inducing any employees leaving the target company for an employment with the purchaser or any of its affiliates. From a purchaser’s perspective it is desirable to include a liquidated damages (i.e. minimum fixed amount) remedy for breaches of the non-compete clause, to add a deferring effect to the seller’s undertaking. Such a provision also eliminates the problem of proving the actual damage caused to the seller and the target company by a purchaser’s breach of the non-compete undertaking.

7. Confidentiality clauses

Both the seller and the purchaser usually undertake not to disclose the contents of the sale and purchase agreement as well as all information provided in connection therewith. From a purely Belgian perspective, information that is normally excluded from such undertaking is:

- Information known to the general public;
- Information that must be disclosed according to the law or any other applicable regulation or that is required for the purposes of any judicial or arbitration proceedings arising out or in connection with the sale and purchase agreement;
- Information that needs to be disclosed to professional advisors or financiers;
- Any disclosure of information to which the relevant party has given its consent.

Further, both parties often wish to control the public disclosure of the transaction, which is generally not covered by confidentiality clauses in the sale and purchase agreement. Therefore a specific regulation regarding news releases, information stakeholders, etc. may have to be included in the agreement.

8. Dispute resolution

When a Belgian target company is sold, applicable law is usually Belgian law.
Disputes arising in connection with the sale and purchase agreement are, in the vast majority of Belgian transactions, agreed to be finally settled by arbitration.

More chapters to come

The next chapter of our M&A road book will amongst others relate to the due execution of the agreement, completion and post-completion actions. This chapter shall be published on our website and in our next newsletter.

10 January 2017

Pieter Dierckx - pieter.dierckx@peeters-law.be
Leo Peeters - leo.peeters@peeters-law.be

Learn more about this topic: subscribe to our newsletter!

E-mail *

Carnet de route concernant les
fusions et acquisitions en Belgique
(2° partie)

Le 'Due Diligence' (juridique) et
le contrat de vente et d'achat

Une fois que les accords précontractuels visés dans la 1ère
partie de notre Carnet de route concernant les fusions et
acquisitions, ont été exécutés, l'étape suivante de la
route à suivre dans le cadre d'une opération de fusions
et d'acquisitions privée, sera la 'due diligence'
et le contract de vente et d'achat.

I. 'Due diligence'

Dans le cadre d'une transaction M&A, une 'due diligence' juridique  de la société cible
sera effectuée par les acheteurs potentiels et leurs conseillers. 

Outre l'examen juridique du 'due diligence', et en fonction des circonstances dans le cas spécifique, des 'due diligences' comptables, financiers, opérationnels et commerciaux de la société cible seront également effectués par les acheteurs potentiels et
leurs conseillers.

Si l'entreprise cible est impliquée dans des affaires écologiquement sensible, il est d'usage qu'un acheteur potentiel implique des consultants spécilalisés dans l'environnement pour effectuer un 'due diligence' environnemental.

L'examen de la 'due diligence' est effectué sur base d'une data room assemblée par le vendeur avec l'aide de ses avocats. Cette data room peut être complétée de temps en temps par des documents réclamés par les avocats de l'acheteur. Pendant la durée du 'due diligence', les acheteurs et leurs conseillers soumettent des questions à la société cible.

La data room peut toujours être constituée de documents physiques mais de nos jours, elles sont en pratique virtuelles. Bien entendu, dans de grands processus de ventes en enchères contrôlées, avec plus d'un acheteur potentiel, situé ou non dans différents pays, les data rooms virtuelles sont beaucoup plus efficaces pour gérer un 'due diligence'.


Certains renseignements sur une société cible belge sont rendus publics, tels que les dossiers judiciaires (y compris le dossier de la société détenu par le greffe du tribunal de commerce compétent). Il s'agit encore des informations financiaires contenues dans les comptes annuels déposés auprès de la banque Nationale (NBB), les hypothèques et les inscriptions juridiques mentionnés dans les attestations délivrées par le conservateur des hypothèques, etc. et peuvent être sollicités auprès de diverses sources publiques et auprès d'un grans nombre d'autorités belges.

De telles informations peuvent être utiles dans une  'due diligence' préalable, avant que la salle des données ne soit accessible. Veuillez noter que les information sur les participations dans une société cible belge ne sont pas rendues publiques, ce est toutefois le cas dans certains de nos pays voisins. 

Apr§ès l'examen du 'due diligence' juridique, les avocats de l'acquéreur potentiel fourniront à leur client un rapport de 'due diligence' présentant les conclusions prises au cours de l'examen. 

Un rapport de 'due diligence' peut couvrir, par exemple, à l'égard de la société visée : 


Les risques identifieés lors du processus de 'due diligence' peuvent être traités par des dispositions du contrat de vente et d'achat  (par exemple des indemnités ou une réduction du prix d'achat). Dans certains cas, les constatations critiques au cours du processus du 'due diligence' peuvent même constituer des "raisons de rupture d'accord" et amener l'acheteur potentiel à se retirer des négociations. 

II. Contrat de vente et d'achat

Une fois que le vendeur et l'acheteur terminent leurs négociations, ils concluent un contrat de vente et d'achat d'actions prévoyant la vente et l'achat des actions de la société cible.

Ci-dessous vous trouverez certaines dispositions de la convention de vente et d'achat d'actions typiquement belge (la majorité des dispositions sont également incluses en cas de vente et d'achat d'actifs et de passifs).

1. Un mécanisme de prix d'achat et transfert d'actions

Les questions cenrrales à régir dans le contrat de vente et d'achat sont le prix d'achat et le transfert d'actions dans la transaction. 

Les parties concernées peuvent simplement opter pour le paiement intégral du prix final d'achat, au closing, sous forme d'une contrepartie en espèces ou par exemple d'une échange d'actions. 

Toutefois, un mécanisme couramment utilisé pour établir le prix d'achat final est l'utilisation d'une clause d'"ajustement de prix" ("completion accounts"). En vertu d'une telle disposition, le prix d'achat préliminaire payé à la signature - par exemple  basé sur un EBITDA corrigé, ou sur la position de la dette nette estimée de la société cible et le fonds de roulement estimé à la date du closing – est alors rapproché de l'EBITDA réel corrigé et/ou de la position de la dette réelle de la société cible et de son fonds de roulement réel au closing.

D'autres critères de mesure sont aussi souvent utilisées pour fixer le prix d'achat. 

Une alternative de plus en plus utilisée est le modèle “locked-box”, où le prix d'achat est fixé à partir d'une certaine date (basée sur un bilan établi à une date convenue) et calculant des intérêts à partir de cette date jusqu'au closing, mais le prix d'achat étant sujet à ajustement pour des 'fuites' non autorisées, par example des dividendes, des primes pour les cadres, le rachat ou l'achat d'actions ou des paiements de passifs au bénéfice du vendeur, éventuellement corrigés avec des convenues (par exemple un montant convenu de dividende accordé aux actionnaires vendeurs ou un bonus payé au managers).

Le paiement conditionnel en fonction des résultats de la société cible, comme l''earn-out', est parfois vu dans des transactions, par exemple lorsque le vendeur ou le management de la société cible restera dans l'entreprise, dont il conserve ou non une participation. 

De nombreuses autres options existent pour réguler le prix d'achat (ajustements) et le paiement qui peuvent être utilisées dans le contrat de vente et d'achat en fonction des circonstances de l'opération en question.

2. Déclarations et garanties

Des déclarations et des garanties couvrent en général une variété de sujet comprenant une variété de sujets comprenant les questions de droit des sociétés (comme la constitution et la propriété des actions), des questions opérationelles (l'emploi, la propriété intellectuelle, les relations avec les consommateurs et fournisseurs, la conformité avec les règlementations et autres, les questions financières, la qualité des actifs vendus, le cas échéant, et les impôts, dans chaques cas traitant des principes généraux  et des questions spécifiques identifiées au cours du 'due diligence'.

Toutefois, les risques spécifiques identifiés par l'acheteur au cours du processus de 'due diligence' ne sont pas réflétées dans les déclarations et garanties. Ces risques sont par contre gérés à titre d'indemnités spécifiques. 

Les conventions de vente et d'achat belges excluent parfois les recours prévues par la loi, et prévoient alors d'autres recours spécifiques comme seul recours disponible pour l'acheteur. En principe, la responsabilité du vendeur pour les indemnités spécifiques n'est pas limitée aux garanties du vendeur, ni par la connaissance de l'acheteur du fait qu'il y ait un problème dans la société cible.

3. La responsabilité du vendeur

Sur le marché belge les périodes de garanties sont en général de 12 à 24 mois.

Toutefois, en ce qui concerne des domaines spécifiques comme la fiscalité ou l'environnement, des délais considérablement plus longs s'appliquent.

Des réclamations dans le cadre des garanties fiscales sont en moyenne autorisées à être initiées un certain nombre de jours (p.e. 90) après la date à laquelle le droit des autorités fiscales ou de toute autre autorité compétente d'évaluer ou de réclamer des taxes ou cotisations de sécurité sociales en ce qui concerne des questions donnant lieu à une telle réclamation est forclos par toutes les règles applicables de prescription. 

Les périodes de garantie dans le cadre de l'environnement sont généralement de 5 à 10 à compter du closing.

En ce qu concerne les seuils de garanties - “caps” and “baskets” – l'acheteur doit être en mesure de demander une indemnisation auprès du vendeur pour un manquement en vertu des garanties et ce manquement doit satisfaire à un seuil ou un montant spécifié. Des manquements qui ne peuvent être réclamés individuellement peuvent être cumulés et, si les manquements cumulés atteignent le seuil, l'acheteur peut réclamer ce manquement global. Une alternative plus favorable pour le vendeur est bien-sûr que les revendications en dessous du seuil soient déduites de la revendication même. Il y a également souvent une limitation selon laquelle chaque manquement mineur qui doit être pris en compte doit lui-même atteindre un certain seuil (sous le nom “de minimis”). Un manquement au-dessus des seuils est compensé sur une base euro-pour-euro  et est limité par un certain montant maximum, plafonnée à un montant la plupart du temps égal au prix d'achat ou à un montant inférieur spécifié. 

La convention de vente et d'achat incluent souvent des dispositions précisant que l'acheteur ne peut pas engager des revendications en vertu des garanties sur base de circonstances qui étaient (ou devaient être raisonnablement ) connues par l'acheteur avant que la convention soit signée, et ce compris l'information divulguée à l'acheteur par le vendeur.

4. La responsabilité de l'acheteur

Les déclérations et garanties faites par l'acheteur sont en général très limitées, si il y en a. La portée de ces déclarayions et garanties est en général limitée à l'existence de l'entreprise, l'autorité et les approbations nécessaires pour la conclusion du contrat de vente et d'achat.

5. Des conditions suspensives

Les conditions suspensives concernent des conditions à remplir avant le closing d'une transaction dans des situations où le moment de la signature diffère de celui du closing de la transaction.
Des conditions suspensives utilisées habituellement sont notamment que la transaction soit approuvée par exemple par l'autorité de la concurrence compétente ou par les autorités de surveillance financière et qu'aucun changement défavorable important affectant la société cible ne se produise entre la signature et le closing (les clauses-MAC»).

6. Les clauses de non-concurrence

Les clauses de non-concurrence sont généralement incluses dans le contrat de vente et d’achat dans une section spécifique ou dans le cadre des engagements du vendeur.

Le vendeur accepte que ni le vendeur ni l'une de ses filiales ne fasse, directement ou indirectement, des affaires ou aient un intérêt dans une entreprise exerçant des activités dans une zone géographique spécifiée qui est en concurrence directe avec l'activité de la société cible.

La période d’un tel engagement de non-concurrence est de 2 à 3 ans en moyenne, mais cela dépend du secteur spécifique.

La clause de non-concurrence est habituellement associée à des clauses de non-sollicitation qui interdisent à l'acheteur et à ses filiales de démarcher ou de persuader des employés qui quittent la société cible pour un emploi auprès de l'acheteur ou de ses filiales. Du point de vue de l'acheteur, il est souhaitable d'inclure un recours à une indemnité forfaitaire (à savoir un montant minimum fixe) en cas de violation de la clause de non-concurrence, pour ajouter un effet de report à l'engagement du vendeur. Une telle disposition élimine également le problème de devoir prouver les dommages réels causés à l'acheteur et à la société cible par la violation du vendeur de l'engagement de non-concurrence.


7. Les clauses de confidentialité

Tant le vendeur que l'acheteur acceptent en général de ne pas divulguer le contenu de la convention de vente et d'achat, ainsi que toutes les informations fournies à cet égard.

D’un point de vue purement belge, l'information qui est normalement exclue d’un tel engagement est:

- L'information connue du grand public;
- Les renseignements qui doivent être divulgués en vertu de la loi ou de tout autre règlement applicable ou qui sont nécessaires aux fins de toute procédure judiciaire ou d'arbitrage découlant ou en relation avec la convention de vente et d'achat;

- Les informations qui doivent être communiquées à des conseillers professionnels ou financiers;
- Toute divulgation d’information pour laquelle la partie concernée a donné son consentement.

En outre, les deux parties souhaitent souvent contrôler la divulgation publique de la transaction, ce qui n'est pas couvert par des clauses de confidentialité dans le contrat de vente et d'achat. Par conséquent, une réglementation spécifique en ce qui concerne les communiqués de presse, l'information aux employés, etc. peut devoir être incluse dans l'accord.

8. Règlement des litiges

Quand une entreprise cible belge est vendue, la loi applicable est habituellement la loi belge.

Pour les litiges en rapport avec la convention de vente et d'achat, il est convenu, dans la grande majorité des transactions belges, de les régler de manière définitive par arbitrage.

Plus de chapitres à venir

Le prochain chapitre de notre carnet de route M&A se rapportera, entre autres, à la bonne exécution de l'accord, au closing et aux actions post-closing. Ce chapitre sera publié sur notre site Web et dans notre prochain bulletin.

10 janvier 2017

Pieter Dierckx - pieter.dierckx@peeters-law.be
Leo Peeters - leo.peeters@peeters-law.be

En savoir plus sur ce sujet: inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter

E-mail *


   
  La clause d'earn-out dans la convention d'achat d'actions  
  Les PME mieux informées sur le droit belge de la concurrence  
  Prix de transfert - Obligations complémentaires de déclaration  
  Les indemnités de procédure dans les litiges en matière de propriété intellectuelle mis en question  
  Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) Principaux changements  
  Recommandation pour les professionnels économiques intervenant auprès des entreprises en difficulté  
  Le fournisseur d'un réseau WIFI, supporte-t-il la responsabilité pour des infractions aux droits de propriété intellectuelle par un tiers utilisateur ?  
  Nouvelle procédure pour le recouvrement de dettes incontestées en B2B  
  Carnet de route concernant des fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (1° partie)  
Carnet de route concernant les fusions et acquisitions en Belgique (2° partie)  
  Les adresses IP dynamiques peuvent être des données à caractère personnel  
  Obligation de notification en cas d'une violation de données à caractère personnel  
  Le délégué à la protection des données  
  L'utilisation des images de caméra comme moyen de preuve  
  Comment peut-on exercer son droit à l'oubli?  
  La saisie sur des comptes bancaires à l’étranger est facilitée  
  La réintégration des malades de longue durée : Réintégration dans l’entreprise  
  Crowdfunding - Update  
  La loi « Travail Faisable et Maniable »